An Indian Dessert That Will Make You A Little Tipsy!

When you drink Kheer or Payasam…

Achu Selvi
Digital Global Traveler
2 min readJul 2, 2023

--

Gems Keerthiga on Wikimedia Commons

I hated this dessert for most of my lifetime. It was not tasty for my taste buds. And I was the only one in my friends’ group who rejected this creamy sweet when someone asked if we need a glass.

Then one day, I can’t remember for what reason, so I decided to give it a try again. It was made with Vermicelli. I took a sip. Then a second one. The sweetness that touched my tongue started to conquer my soul.

I ended up drinking two or three glasses. It was at that moment I knew, I f*****d up. My head started to hurt. I couldn’t lift my head. It felt like everything around me began to move in a circle.

I can assure you, it didn’t happen only to me. People say the number of spices and their strong taste cause it even though the main ingredients are milk and sugar/jaggery. Maybe the sugar adds a little more effect.

In Kerala, you can find a variety of Payasam, like Semiya, Palada, Wheat, etc. And drinking it after a satisfying vegetarian meal will make your stomach happy! Now, I must point out that you should only drink a glass if you aren’t familiar with its taste!

--

--

Achu Selvi
Digital Global Traveler

Wanna be a journalist, but trying to figure out what I am good at