If You Want to Avoid Being Scammed in NYC, You Better Read This Article

Three cautionary tales and an Instagram Reel to match

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Digital Global Traveler

--

A smiling monk trying to scam tourists in a big city
Looks can be deceiving (credit: Monica Ray)

If you’re planning to visit New York City soon or on an undefined day in the future, someone needs to tell you about three situations. As someone who’s lived here for several years, let that person be me.

I was bright-eyed, innocent, and bushy-tailed once when I first moved to the Big Apple. The scammers saw a gullible newbie the minute they set their eyes on me and knew they could get away with their schemes. Not anymore. I’m a hardened New Yorker now and want to pay it forward.

The scam based on smiles and goodwill

When I first moved to the city, all wanted to do was walk everywhere. There’s no better way to explore and get your bearings more than walking. This included hitting all the clichéd tourist areas of course. While walking around in Central Park with my child one day, we were approached by a serene and cheerful-looking Asian man in orange robes.

I have the highest respect for Buddhism and know a fair bit about it, so I decided to smile back and slow down. Big mistake. Within seconds, he put bracelets around our wrists and thrust his palm into my private space. “Donation”, he muttered under his…

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Digital Global Traveler

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray