Did A Ghost Hold My Hand In America's Most Haunted House?

Tara Torres
Digital Global Traveler
5 min readOct 17, 2023

--

A Halloween Tale About Touring The Whaley House In San Diego

The Whaley House in San Diego, CA. Photo by the author.

We stood in the dining room of a house called America's Most Haunted House as the guide explained the room's history. It was dark out, and I wasn't really sure if I believed in ghosts. But I couldn't shake the feeling that someone was holding my hand.

I had already been warned that Yankee Jim, one of the house’s most active spirits, might try and mess with me. Yankee Jim was hung as a criminal and apparently harbored resentment for those in law enforcement well into the afterlife.

"Any current or former law enforcement here?" The guide asked at the start of the tour.

I reluctantly raised my hand.

"Watch yourself. Yankee Jim doesn't like cops." She told me.

Great, I wish I had known before booking a night tour that a cop-hating ghost roamed the halls.

Photos by the author.

In the heart of Old Town San Diego lies the oldest brick buildings in California. Brick buildings are rare in California as they don't hold up well in earthquakes. However, this one…

--

--

Tara Torres
Digital Global Traveler

Pondering on life and travel. I have been on the most spectacular spiritual journey for the last five years. I'm a former overseas security consultant.