Travel Story

European Cafes are Relaxing?!

Now that’s not something you learn in A.P. European History

Malia Gibson
Digital Global Traveler

--

Photo by hadar elia on Unsplash

The first full day of solo traveling in 2018 found me in Zagreb, Croatia, disoriented, hungry, and desperate for coffee.

I had flown in the night before after a tiring day of flying from San Diego to Seattle, Seattle to Frankfurt, and then Frankfurt to Zagreb.

After several challenges during my first night in Zagreb, including fixing a Wi-Fi router with the instructions in Croatian, I woke up the next day groggily, knowing I needed food and coffee.

I was very nervous about leaving my Airbnb for the first time because I had no Wi-Fi on my phone and no knowledge of the Croatian language (I started studying a few words later that evening).

But knowing I needed to get moving, I checked Google Maps and found a grocery store named Konzum nearby (the biggest Croatian supermarket chain) and a café called Max i Mir Zagreb, a few steps further from the grocery store.

Coffee first, I thought, my head aching from caffeine withdrawal and jetlag.

I tentatively opened the door to my Airbnb with screenshots of Google Maps directions on my phone, just in case.

Via Google Maps!

The street outside looked beautiful in the sunlight, with heaps of melting snow on the sidewalk that had fallen the day before. Coming from San Diego, I felt a sense of wonder — I hadn’t been around much snow growing up.

As I walked down the street, I immediately saw the grocery store, Konzum, that I had seen on Google Maps.

I’m glad that’s so easy to get to, I thought.

I stopped in front of Konzum and, sure enough, saw Max i Mir Zagreb across the street to the left.

Oh my gosh, yes! My head is throbbing. Time for some caffeine!

Entering the café, I noticed it was cute and comfortable, with a few booths full of people smoking and enjoying their coffees.

I walked up to the counter, excitedly asked the barista for a cappuccino to-go, and promptly pulled out my wallet to pay for it.

To my surprise, the barista said they didn’t offer to-go drinks (at least in 2018). He kindly asked me if I wanted to sit and enjoy the cappuccino inside.

I told him, “Sure!”

Spotting an empty booth, I walked over and plopped down. The barista brought me a coffee and the receipt for my order. He told me that I could pay at the counter where I had first greeted him once I was done enjoying the coffee.

This came as a second surprise because the opposite happens in the U.S. — you pay for your coffee first and drink it afterward.

So this was an eye-opener for someone like me who had never been in a café in Europe before and had no friend or guide to help me understand how things were different.

When in the US, since we pay first and drink later, I’m usually compelled to leave the café right away and drink the coffee while on my way somewhere.

But enjoying the coffee first and paying later was relaxing because I didn’t feel rushed to leave. I stayed in the café, appreciated the atmosphere, and listened to the delightful sounds of the Croatian language spoken by the locals.

It was the first time I noticed the difference between the norms I was used to in the US and the norms of another country and continent.

Sitting down in the café to enjoy a coffee, rather than taking it to go as I would in the U.S., was a wonderful experience. And did I mention that the cappuccino healed me of my jetlag headache and was downright delicious?

Photo by author

If you enjoyed the content, please follow me and leave a clap!

I’m an engineer and freelance writer. I’ve worked remotely for five years and have traveled worldwide as a digital nomad. And guess what? If you want to get in touch about writing or travel, my email is: malia.e.gibson@gmail.com

Did you like this story ☺️? You might like these ones too ⬇️

--

--

Malia Gibson
Digital Global Traveler

Seasoned digital nomad and traveler who loves conducting thought experiments. Feel free to click: maliagibson.medium.com/about