Travel — Indonesia

Finding Myself Through Scuba Diving

My first scuba diving experience.

Cindy Roaming
Digital Global Traveler
3 min readJan 18, 2024

--

Photo by Author

In 2015, when I was in Bali, I popped up with the idea of yearning for something different and adventurous.

And there I was, surfing Google and coming across underwater attractions on Tanjung Benoa Beach: snorkeling, underwater sea walking, scuba diving, and more.

I was interested in scuba diving. I read the package: 30 minutes underwater, 10 meters max, gear included, accompanied by an experienced dive instructor. I’ll take this.

I reached out to the contact and booked it for tomorrow.

On the night, I started to think about the worst case: I know the basics of swimming, but I’ve never been down this deep. At a depth of 10 meters, is it deep? Of course, it is. What if I died? Should I send a last text to my parents? Or cancel it, but the money, I know, can’t be refunded. All these thoughts swirled in my mind.

Let’s count the sheep: one sheep, two sheep, three sheep, and zzzzzzzzzz.

I tried to be calm when I arrived at the location. I met my guide, let’s call bli* Made.

*Bli is a nickname used by male Balinese people.

--

--

Cindy Roaming
Digital Global Traveler

I write about my travel story, foods, and culture. Currently in Mexico City🇲🇽