Finding Peace and Bliss in the Canadian Rockies

Visiting Canada’s most scenic landscapes

Noah Q
Digital Global Traveler
4 min readDec 7, 2023

--

Moraine Lake. Image by author.

Spanning 1460 km across British Columbia and Alberta, the Canadian Rockies are the pinnacle of Canada’s natural beauty. Within this vast chain of interconnected mountain ranges, you can find vibrant lakes, shimmering glaciers and stunning national parks. I spent four memorable days there in July, 2022, and continue to feel breathless whenever I look through my photos.

Day 1: Lake Hopping

I first made my way to Yoho National Park, stopping at the famed Emerald Lake. Surrounded by lush, verdant trees and pristine mountains, this elegant turquoise lake invoked a tranquil and peaceful atmosphere. From a distance, I watched as tourists kayaked across the lake, while others took selfies or admired the beauty they were seeing.

Moraine Lake was my next stop. I first hiked to the top of a mountainside and looked down to witness the beauty of an elegant glacial lake. I stood there and admired the scenery from all corners of my eyes. I was surrounded by towering larch trees and immense mountains. Above all, the lake below that reflected a distinctive shade of azure blue was truly a site to behold.

I then made my way to Lake Louise, a glacial lake in Banff National Park. Despite the large crowds, I felt at peace. The tranquil vibe of the turquoise water, lofty larch trees and summer snow-capped mountains gave me a blissful and harmonious feeling I don’t experience often.

After making a quick stop at Lake Minnewanka, I spent the evening in Banff, a resort town surrounded by scenic natural landscapes. Banff is truly a picture-perfect mountain town.

Emerald Lake. Image by author.

Day 2: Jasper National Park

A trip to the Canadian Rockies wouldn’t be complete without visiting Jasper National Park.

My first stop would be the Columbia Icefields. I boarded an all terrain bus at the base of Mount Athabasca. As we got closer to the top, the air had gotten frigid, and I shivered uncontrollably. When we finally arrived, I instantly felt breathless, and I’m not talking about the altitude. I was surrounded by immense mountain glaciers and ice sheets. The ground was icy, and a small stream of fresh, delicious water trickled past me. I’ll never forget the beauty I witnessed that morning.

The Columbia Icefield Skywalk was next in my itinerary. I walked on this glass floor observation platform that protruded over the edge of a roadside. I admired the ethereal beauty of Mount Athabasca and the Sunwapta River from 280 meters above. All felt well.

I spent the afternoon and evening exploring Jasper, another mountain town. Albeit smaller than Banff, the surrounding landscape was just as scenic and remarkable.

Columbia Icefields. Image by author.

Day 3: Jasper and Banff

I started the day in Maligne Lake, a glacial lake in Jasper National Park. Known for it azure water and its surrounding snow capped mountains, this lake was truly breathtaking. I boarded a boat and headed towards Spirit Island. The First Nations believed that mountains are physical representations of their ancestors, and the fact that Spirit Island is surrounded by mountains makes it a very spiritual place for them. This small, uninhabited island invoked a zen and calming atmosphere.

Before heading back to Banff, I made a quick stop at Peyto Lake. Looking down below from a platform deck was a surreal and enchanting experience. Wedged in between mountains and a subalpine forest was a brightly coloured turquoise lake that looked almost like paint. The lake was stunningly beautiful and I quickly realized that lake hopping is not only about seeing lakes; it’s also about appreciating the beauty and tranquility of Canada’s natural landscapes.

Peyto Lake. Image by author.

Day 4: Banff National Park

My last day was a memorable one. I hopped onto a cable car and rode to the top of Sulphur Mountain. The panoramic views from an observation deck at 2200 meters were beyond breathtaking. I saw nothing but colossal mountains, serene lakes, and luscious trees as far as my eyes could see. It felt surreal being surrounded by such stunning beauty.

Prior to my trip to the Canadian Rockies, I was struggling with depression and over exhaustion. Despite that, I found healing during this trip. Words cannot even begin to accurately encapsulate the sheer beauty of what I saw, and the picturesque landscapes left me feeling a lot more calm and at peace. I headed home with a new perspective of life, a smile on my face and beautiful memories that will last me a lifetime.

--

--

Noah Q
Digital Global Traveler

Canadian focusing on minimalism, frugal living and solo travel. A college prof once told me my writing is “really good”, so here I am