Friendship and Perspective in the Peruvian Andes

Rediscovering Gratitude in the High Mountains

Quantum Shadows
Digital Global Traveler

--

Photo by Janaya Dasiuk on unsplash

I had never climbed at altitude before. I lived at sea level so my intro to high altitude climbing would have a steep learning curve. I’d been training for months and felt confident heading to Peru that summer. I’d do the standard stay in the mountain town of Huaraz for a few days. Then once I felt adjusted to the new elevation I’d head off into the mountains.

There I’d spend a few weeks summiting new peaks and collecting bragging rights for the trip home. That was the plan anyway. But as with many best laid plans my trip would come to follow a different path.

When I did eventually make it into the mountains I got horribly sick from the altitude. I descended the next day with my tail between my legs. While I waited back in Huaraz I got sick again. This time from the water, possibly giardia, although the doctors at home were never able to give me a definite answer. I still had a few more weeks left, so I waited for the illness to pass while I tryed to learn some Spanish.

Photo by Jessica Knowlden on unsplash

--

--

Quantum Shadows
Digital Global Traveler

An immersion of the mind into the infinite possibilities that lay just beyond our reach...