Jumping into the Atlantic Ocean from a Half-marathon

What would flying into one of the 10 most dangerous airports be like? Aeroporto Internacional da Madeira Cristiano Ronaldo.

Tetiana T
Digital Global Traveler
5 min readJun 11, 2024

--

Incredible feelings after running to jump into the ocean.

Photo by Official site

When I registered for the race, I was still not well-versed in Portugal and I thought it was just a city I could get to by bus or trainšŸ˜. It would be great if I could look at the map before registering.

When I found this race, registration was already closed. So I focused more on solving this issue. I wrote a letter to the race Organizer of the Race andā€¦ thatā€™s how I got registered.

Everything is possible! Just need to ask.

I was happy because I thought registering for the half marathon was the hardest thing. A few days after that, I decided to see where it would be and how I would need to get from Porto (the city where I lived) to Funchal.

What a surprise it was for me. šŸ¤© Really.. The only way to get to Funchal is by air. Because Funchal is a city on the island of Madeira. Why it is also Portugal, is still a question for me.

Screen by Author from Google map

So I had to get ready. I bought plane tickets and then booked a hotel. And then I started reading about the airport.

Madeira Airport is among the top 10 most dangerous in the world because it requires special maneuvers that each pilot trains to master. Before landing, the plane must be directed to the mountains, and at the last moment, it must turn sharply and enter the runway.

Funchal Airport Extension, Madeira Island, Portugal

Photo from site

But donā€™t worry, itā€™s not that bad. Itā€™s just that your airplane is landing and then taking off!
-ā€œDonā€™t worry, it's normal, everything Okay!ā€ says the pilot.
And on the second try, we successfully landed. šŸ‘Œ

Photo by Author

I first went to pick up the starter pack and then went for a walk around the island before checking into the hotel.

Photo by Author

Madeira impressed me, itā€™s an island where you can feel that people are in no hurry and enjoy life.

Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author

Day of the Race

The Funchal Marathon is an international sporting event that takes place annually in the city of Funchal and brings together athletes from many countries, in a trend that is more pronounced in the field of leisure and recreation, not forgetting, of course, the competitive part.

The route was incredible, passing through Funchalā€™s charming streets, and waterfront areas, and offering views of the islandā€™s unique landscapes. Elevation Gain: 77mD+

Of course, it was so hot, but there were a lot of hydration stations on the track, fruitā€¦

Photo by Author

I enjoyed this race, it was like a breath of fresh airā€¦. It was my first official race in 2023, by the way. The second race abroad. And for the first time, I was alone at the race, without fans or anyone I knew who was also running.

However, runners are a special group of very friendly people. I made many peopleā€™s friendships after the finish.

After the finish line, I jumped into the Oceanā€¦ It was so cool. January monthšŸ™ƒ In Ukraine we have snow this month.

Photo by Author

Few tips:

  • Look at the route, and if you have time, run at least a part of it. Because there will be a marathon running simultaneously with the half marathon it is important to run your route. Of course, there will be volunteers who will show you where your turn is.
  • Be sure to use sunscreen
  • Drink water at hydration stations
  • Look around during the race ā€” the view is incredibly picturesque
  • Plan a couple of days to see the island ā€” itā€™s really beautiful

What to visit on Madeira island:

  • Jardim Monte Palace Madeira
  • Monte Palace Madeira
  • Madeira Botanical Garden
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author

Run, travel, and enjoy!

--

--

Tetiana T
Digital Global Traveler

RunšŸƒšŸ»ā€ā™€ļø - Travel āœˆļø- WorkšŸ’»