TRAVEL WISHLIST/RV TRAVEL LIFE

My Current Top 10 State Destination List For The Warmer Months

Life in the RV may open the possibility to get around a bit more so I’d like to explore places that I haven’t seen yet

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Digital Global Traveler

--

Photo by Joel Holland on Unsplash

10. Massachusetts

I’ve always wanted to visit this historic New England state. It houses some of the oldest settlements in the United States and has some very historic and fascinating places to see. Boston, one of my favorite cities when I was growing up, is a must-see. I have to get that far east before I die. I also want to park my car in Harvard Yard and say it in the notorious non-rhotic accent that Bostonians are famous for. I also want to eat some of that delicious clam chowder, sit at Fenway Park for a Red Sox game, and even try to catch a Celtics game if I can get there early enough. I looked at the map and there are plenty of places where we can conveniently park our RV while we’re exploring the state so that’s an added bonus.

9. Michigan

Why wouldn’t I want to go to a state surrounded by pretty much every side of the state with fresh water? I love the water so this scenery would be perfect for me. I’d also like to drive up to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and see what everybody’s talking about when they mention how gorgeous it is. And, I love cities, so I’d definitely have to at the very least pass through Detroit. I know all of the horror stories that I’ve heard about the condition of the city currently but it is a city that definitely deserves to get revitalization and I hope that I can see it in my lifetime. And, since I love food so much (that’s literally my favorite thing to do while I’m traveling), I hope that I can be treated to a world-famous proper Detroit-style pizza.

8. Maryland

I feel like I’m going to end up picking all of the states where I want to try the best of the best of the food that they offer. Who wouldn’t want a delicious and fresh crab cake? Maryland is right on top of our nation’s capital too so I could definitely get a day trip to Washington, D.C. on this trip to see the historic and nationally significant monuments there. And it’s also a great time to be an Orioles fan. The team’s future looks bright and Oriole Park at Camden Yards would be a great place to catch a ballgame. A fun fact is that my dad was briefly in this state before he was raised in Texas (he was born in Aberdeen). It’d be nice to go there and find the hospital he was born in.

7. Virginia

While I’m in the area, I might as well venture my way into beautiful and historic Virginia. I could do without so many confederate statues and monuments but I imagine that the state has a lot to offer. I know that along with being the other state that borders our nation’s capital, there is also Virginia Beach. It’s got to be a fast-growing and high-demand area for a reason. There is so much coastline here too. We can enjoy many views of the Atlantic Ocean. If we want to go further west, we can enjoy views of the Appalachian Mountains as well.

6. North Carolina

Speaking of the Appalachian Mountains, I have a friend who lives in the Western part of North Carolina not too far from the Tennessee border. In fact, she went into a store in Johnson City, TN to go shopping. I think it was something about lower taxes or something like that. I’m not trying to promote Tennessee, at least not yet, but it’s worth mentioning the proximity to this beautiful state. Charlotte would also have to be one of our destinations. I’m a Carolina Panthers fan and I’ve never seen Bank of America stadium. That would make the trip to North Carolina enough. I also have a few friends scattered across other parts of the state. It will certainly be a lengthy tour. I’ve also always wanted to see the Outer Banks.

5. Tennessee

Okay, so I didn’t wait long to put the next state on my list. Tennesee is the home of Nashville, the hub of country music. That’s enough to get me there. I want to see the Grand Ole Opry. I also want to feel the energy around so much star power. I’ve also written about Dolly Parton before. She’s one of my and my partner’s favorite singers of all time. Dollywood is also a must for us. I always had musical aspirations and I think that the trip would be inspirational. Then there’s Memphis and Graceland and Beale Street. It’s just something that I have to experience. And I heard that Memphis barbecue claims to be one of the best in the country. I’d love to try it firsthand.

4. Oregon

This is the only state west of the Mississippi that I’m going to include on my list. I’ve always wanted to go to Oregon. I have been told that the Oregon Coast in the warmer months is a place that you have to experience. I lived in California for most of my life and it’s such a tragedy that I never went to our northern neighbor. And Walmart is pulling out of Portland so now I KNOW that I have to see what Portland is all about. I did watch that show, Portlandia. I’ve actually heard that it’s pretty accurate. People in the comments are free to challenge my beliefs on this but it’s certainly a draw for me. Plus, there are a ton of places we can stay in our RV in Oregon.

3. Rhode Island

The smallest state in the United States is also on my list. It’s just in a region that I feel like I’d jive with the most. New England is the most educated and non-religious region in the United States. I’m an agnostic, almost pretty much an atheist at this point. So is my partner. We’d fit right into any of the New England states. And Rhode Island is right by the water again. Always, a draw for me. I’m sure that Providence is a more laid-back metropolitan area than other surrounding ones too so it’d be more relaxed for us. Plus, one of my favorite shows on TV is set in Rhode Island, the animated show, Family Guy. I want to find out what a Quahog actually looks like in person and if it’s any good.

2. Vermont

Sensing a theme for my top three yet? I’m sure you could probably guess from these last two states what my number one is going to be. Vermont is where our RV is registered so that’s definitely one advantage this state has over the other ones on this list. Like Rhode Island, it’s also a small state. Bernie Sanders, a candidate that I supported in 2016 and 2020 for President, lives in this state. The state isn’t too populated and has a lot of beautiful and untouched countryside. Plus, Vermont maple syrup? Come on. Of course. Vermont is such a mood. I love that Vermont kept a Walmart Supercenter outside of its borders until 2014.

1. Maine

The largest of the New England states Maine would be the perfect destination to go to in the summer. It’s far enough north that there won’t be as many unbearably hot days in states just south of it. It is the easternmost state in the United States so then I can claim that I’ve gone the furthest east than I possibly can in this country. And I mean, Maine lobster? Whoopie pie? Brown bread in a can? How did you not know that food was going to come back up here? Countless miles and miles of forests, rocky and breathtaking coastlines, and proximity to Canada (Quebec and the East Coast). This state has a lot going for it. And there aren’t a ton of residents in the entire state and a lot of the state to explore. Last year, I was looking at all of the beautiful state parks and campgrounds available to us if we decided to go there. It is by far the one state that I’ve always wanted to get to and the perfect one to go to when the temperature gets warmer. Maine can keep its winters to itself though.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Digital Global Traveler

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.