New Submission Rule in Digital Global Traveler

Personal touch required!

Sandra Jasionowska-Kuryło
Digital Global Traveler
4 min readMar 20, 2023

--

Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

Hello, Digital Global Travelers!

Let me start by stating how grateful I feel because of being a part of this wonderful community. I remember the days when this publication was taking its first steps and I am proud looking at how far we have come.

A retrospect that got us thinking about the change

As is usually the case, after some time, you should analyze what you have achieved, and if necessary, make some changes.

Recently, the owner of the publication,

, and I were talking about the future of it. We decided on introducing a new rule of stories to be published in the Digital Global Traveler. This article summarizes what we have come to.

By the way, you can find all submission rules in the story pinned at the top of the publication page:

You’re welcome to write with DGT and / or give suggestions

Remember — if you are a part of this community, or you’d like to become one, we’re always open to suggestions. You may leave them in the comments or reach

directly at digitalglobaltraveler@gmail.com.

You’re also welcome to become a new writer in the Digital Global Traveler family. Just give us your Medium handle and we’ll add you!

Without further ado, let’s go to the new rule.

Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Personal Touch Required

From now on, the stories to be published in DGT need to contain a thing called personal touch.

What does it mean?

We never planned to be an encyclopedic-style publication. We are people, and we write for people, so we’d like to sound like ones.

If you’re writing about a specific place, tell us why is it important for you. What you experienced there. How you came there. It doesn’t need to be anything too personal — we’d just like to feel that the person who wrote the story is an actual human. 😀

But I’m writing about a place I’ve never been to!

That’s not a problem. Just tell us why you decided to create an article about that specific location. Maybe it’s a dream of yours to go there? Maybe you’re amazed by its style, because you’ve always paid attention to history or, let’s say, urban planning?

You know why you’re writing a story about a specific place. Tell us the reason.

Does it mean I can’t publish stories with copyright-free photos that weren’t taken by me?

No, but if you have a photo of the place you write about that you took yourself, it would be great if you included it.

Stock photos are nice and all, but we would like to see the place the way you saw it. Like the one below: it’s not the best photo in the world, but it’s mine. That’s why it’s personal — and that’s its value.

Taken at Trójmiejski Park Krajobrazowy in Gdańsk. Auto-corrected in the Windows photo viewing application. Author’s own photo.

I’m writing about a language that’s not anymore spoken by anyone in the world. I can’t give the story a personal touch, because I, myself, can’t speak that language.

It doesn’t matter that you actually don’t know it. Tell us why the language is so important to you, what made you find it interesting. Why did you think it was worth telling the world about?

Give me an example.

Sure. Let’s say I’m writing about Japan. More specifically, about a city in Japan, Kawasaki.

I can start with: Kawasaki is a city in Japan. It’s one of the main cities of Greater Tokyo Area and Keihin Industrial Area. And then proceed to tell the story of the city, number of people who live there, etc.

I’d be like reading a Wikipedia page.

Let’s say I’ve never been to Japan, but I knew a guy who rode a Kawasaki motorcycle.

So, I can start with:

Today I’m going to tell you about Kawasaki. This city has always held a special place in my life — my friend rode a Kawasaki motorcycle. I never tried, though he encouraged me to do it.

I can even go further:

When I was 16, I’ve met a guy older than me by a few years. We quickly became friends. We did everything together: ride bikes, watch movies, and organize bonfire parties. But there was a thing I could never do with him.

Ride his Kawasaki motorcycle.

Just the thought of this made me freeze with horror.

This week, I realized my neighbor has the same motorcycle. I remembered all the nice moments spent with my friend.

It also gave me food for thought: what does the word Kawasaki actually mean?

That’s how my afternoon, filled with binge-searching, began.

It’s not an authentic story, but I guess you know the drill.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

We’re Open for Suggestions!

We’re going to update the main story about the DGT publishing rules shortly.

Please remember that we’re always open for suggestions and opinions on how our publication could become better and more attractive for readers and, of course, writers.

Reach us in the comments or write directly to

at digitalglobaltraveler@gmail.com.

Sincerely,
DGT Editorial Team ❤️

--

--

Sandra Jasionowska-Kuryło
Digital Global Traveler

Unity Developer by day || Hiking, (Mental) Health, Fitness, Indie Games, Self-awareness Maniac by night || Always a Pole 🇵🇱