TALES FROM THE ROAD

One Blind Old Lady and a Dozen Jars of Honey

This beautiful elderly citizen proves that travel is for everyone

Jason Lee
Digital Global Traveler
5 min readMay 30, 2024

--

small bulgarian town of white houses with orange roofs surrounded by sandy and craggy hills and green trees
The tiny town of Melnik — Photo by Author

“She stood at the viewpoint alongside the other tourists, facing the most gorgeous panoramic views in Bulgaria, yet she couldn’t see a thing.”

The story immediately had me intrigued.

I needed to know more, and although I had a dozen questions rattling around in my head, I shut my mouth and listened. There was no way that I was going to be the one to interrupt such an amazing tale.

Sometimes, the most remarkable stories come at the least expected of times.

I was on a day trip from Sofia to a tiny town called Melnik in southwestern Bulgaria.

Melnik is famous for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, it’s widely known as the smallest town in Bulgaria. With only a couple of hundred occupants, Melnik can hardly even be called a town, save for its heritage listing that allows it to hold onto the title.

The history of Melnik is captivating, and many first-time visitors are surprised to discover that the famous gladiator Spartacus hailed from the area. Later, during Ottoman rule, the town's population ballooned to over 10,000 residents.

--

--

Jason Lee
Digital Global Traveler

Australian travel writer, Lonely Planet guidebook author, Gulf War Veteran and proud office cubicle shiftwork survivor.