Rhine River drone picture. Credit: Jane Dubrov

Rhein River: Travel Upper Middle Rhine Valley

Jane Evgeniia Dubrov
Digital Global Traveler
5 min read6 days ago

--

Rhine. The river that, somewhere out there has broken free. Lauren DeStefano

My American girlfriend took a Rhein River cruise. When I asked her how it went, she told me that she had a religious experience. She overnighted in one of the castles along the way, and as she was entering the castle she was marveling at its beauty:” Oh, my God!” When she received the bill for an overnight stay, she screamed:” Jesus Christ!”

Since Rhine Valley is only several hours away from Frankfurt, I wanted to see for myself what it had to offer. I was not disappointed.

First, Jacob and I drove to a city called Mainz, which is a good starting point for Upper Middle Rhine Valley (Oberes Mittelrheintal) exploration.

City of Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz Germany

According to a ranking by the German National Tourist Board (DZT), the population size of 200, 000 Mainz city is one of the 100 most beautiful sights in Germany. Together with Frankfurt and Darmstadt, Mainz makes up what they call in Germany a “triangle of science”. The Universities of the three cities recently joined to comprise a huge scientific center.

One of the biggest attractions of Mainz is the St. Stephan church. During the Second World War, the church was almost completely…

--

--

Jane Evgeniia Dubrov
Digital Global Traveler

I am a photographer covering the greater Frankfurt Area, Germany. Instagram @jane.dubrov, website janedubrov.com