Saving the Giant River Otters of Guyana

Remembering Conservation Legend Diane McTurk

Johnny K.
Digital Global Traveler

--

Diane McTurk and friend (2008). Photo by author.

“CATCH THAT FROG!” Diane screamed. “The otter mustn’t eat the frog!”

I was a guest at Karanambu Lodge in the interior of Guyana, and I could tell by her tone that this gentle, white-haired woman meant business.

The race was on!

I dove across furniture and charged after the little frog, which was being pursued by a baby otter.

With a final lunge, I cupped my palms around the frog just as the otter prepared to pounce on his lunch.

“Got him!”

I held up my hands triumphantly to show Diane that I had rescued the frog. The little otter looked at me in confusion.

“Don’t touch the frog’s stomach!” Diane yelled. “That’s where the poison glands are!”

This seemed like valuable information I needed 20 seconds before…

…But maybe she knew I wouldn’t have been so anxious to help if I’d known that frog was poisonous.

One of the many “highways” in Guyana’s interior. Photo by author.

Guyana is situated in a remote and untouched corner of South America between the…

--

--

Johnny K.
Digital Global Traveler

Traveler | Writer | Photographer | Filmmaker | Storyteller. Next stop: Antarctica! https://linktr.ee/thatjohnnykguy