Scuba Diving in Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Shikha Chaturvedi
Digital Global Traveler
4 min readJun 29, 2024
Havelock Island (Photo by the Author)

Scuba diving had been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. The idea of exploring the underwater world was thrilling, yet a bit intimidating, so I never quite mustered the courage to dive in. That is, until I received a message from my sister, Diya: “I have some time off from work. How about a scuba trip?” I was in the midst of preparing for the GMAT, and my initial instinct was to pass on the opportunity (or maybe I was just scared).

A few days later, I decided to go for it: “Let’s do this.” I messaged Diya, and off we went to the stunning Andaman and Nicobar Islands. We even managed to convince our other sister, Naira, who was initially against the idea of diving in the ocean and had asthma, to join us.

Getting Certified with Dive India

We chose to get certified with Dive India and stayed at Lemongrass. I highly recommend staying here because the Dive India shop is conveniently located within the hotel, making everything super easy. Plus, the beach-facing rooms offer breathtaking views.

Theory and Pool Training

The certification course covered all the essential theory and basic skills: breathing techniques, buoyancy control, understanding the equipment, and handling situations like water seeping into your goggles. To save time in the Andamans, we completed our pool training in Bombay over one exhausting day. Initially, I struggled to breathe through the regulator and even got a cramp in the pool, causing a mini-panic. But this turned out to be a blessing in disguise, as the instructor taught me how to handle such situations before the actual ocean dives.

After mastering the skills, we had to pass a swim test and a float test — 10 minutes floating on our backs and a 200-meter swim without fins (or 300 meters with fins). With that, we were ready for the real adventure in the Andamans.

Pool Training in Mumbai (Photo by the Author)

The Adventure Begins

Day 1 & 2: Arrival and Exploration

We arrived at the Andaman Islands and spent our first night in Port Blair, exploring a few rooftop bars before settling at the one in our hotel. The next day, we took a ferry to Havelock Island, which you can book in through the Makruzz website. After settling into our rooms, we headed to the Dive shop to size our equipment. In the evening, we were given four chapters to study. Later, we explored the area and found a cozy beachside café called The Full Moon Café.

Port Blair & Havelock Island (Photo by the Author)

Day 3: First Ocean Dives

We had two dives planned for the day. After breakfast and a quick theory session, we left for Nemo Reef at 11:30. These initial dives were relatively shallow, with a maximum depth of 10 meters, focusing on buoyancy and practicing our pool training skills. Despite the sandy conditions and lower visibility, our first glimpse of the ocean was mesmerizing. We saw clownfish, moon jellyfish, and many other fascinating marine creatures.

In the evening, we were assigned another four chapters to study, but being a Friday night, we balanced studying with a bit of fun, stepping out to a bar with live music for a few drinks (though drinking before diving is a big no-no!).

(Photo by the Author)

Day 4: Deeper Dives

Now, the real diving began. Our dive sites for the day were Pilot Reef and Tribe Gate, where the visibility was much better, and we encountered a diverse array of fish. With most of the skills under our belts, we could fully enjoy these dives, reaching depths of up to 18 meters.

I rented a GoPro for this day, and in my excitement, I sped around, resulting in my worst recorded Surface Air Consumption (SAC) rate. Due to my reckless behavior, my instructor didn’t let me use the GoPro for the second dive.

After our dives, we returned to The Full Moon Café for a meal. That night, we took our theory exam, which we needed to pass to earn our certification.

Diving in Andaman (Photo by the Author)

Achievement Unlocked: Open Water Diver Certification

We successfully cleared our SSI Open Water Diver certification! This experience was incredibly refreshing. Overcoming my fears, I found scuba diving to be a unique and relaxing adventure, different from any other activity. Even Naira, despite her asthma, mastered buoyancy and changed her mind about diving.

Stay tuned for my next blog, where I’ll dive into my journey to the Advanced Adventurer certification!

--

--

Shikha Chaturvedi
Digital Global Traveler

I'm here to share my personal experiences with adventure trips to inspire and motivate you to embark on your own exciting journey!