Travel | Culture | Photography | Mexico City

See What I See: Mexico City’s Local Carnival

Los Peñon de los Baños Neighborhood

Cindy Roaming
Digital Global Traveler
3 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Photo by Author

This is episode 1 of 3.

The story features soundscapes from my journey; listen to it to feel the ambiance.

Stumbling upon the unexpected carnival in Zocalo, Mexico City, led me to another local carnival.

I just found out that the Carnaval season has started here and last before Catholic Lent occurs.

It may be unlike the famous carnivals in Rio de Janeiro, Veracruz, or Mazatlan. But experiencing the local carnival was an amazing one for me. I ended up going to three local carnivals. And trust me, every community has unique things to their celebrations.

The first carnival I’ve been to took place in Peñon de Los Baños, a neighborhood near Benito Juarez International Airport in Mexico City.

They dance tirelessly to the music along the street, dressed in vibrant dresses and unique masks. The carnival began on February 11th, 14th, 15th, and 18th.

Most of the costumes they wore were based on their culture or history, such as Los Reyes, Huehuenches, and Lucha Libres, as well as modern versions, such as superheroes.

--

--

Cindy Roaming
Digital Global Traveler

I write about my travel story, foods, and culture. Currently in Mexico City🇲🇽