Train Tales: Immersive Travel Experiences on the Tracks

Exploring the world on rails

Yoshani Ranaweera
Digital Global Traveler
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo taken by my friend. Attached with their permission.

It was about 4 in the morning when I woke up from my subtle doze on the Night Mail train. I had already grown accustomed to the continuous sound of the train on the railway tracks, which interrupted the world from its deep slumber. A sudden heightening of the “chugga chugga” sound made me look outside the windowpane of the train. The sight I saw almost took my breath away! It was the break of dawn, and the world was still mildly dark. Out the window, I could see a white trail of water trickling over the rugged expanse of stone-laden plains stretching across the bridge that the train was crossing. The small stream had branched off into many tiny trails, forming a bride’s veil caressing the smoothened rocks beneath.

A streak of daylight was now freeing the world from the darkness. Lots of huge trees were arcing towards the train tracks as if bowing to their visitors. The forest was still pretty dark due to the tall trees that obstructed the sunlight from peeping through. It was deserted, no sign of human life anywhere, except for the sound of the train that reminded me that I’m not alone.

I was gazing out at the dark forest and wondering what dark secrets it held when suddenly everything went pitch black. I could hear the sound of the train more clearly now that the sound was being echoed back at me by the huge rock walls that comprised the tunnel that we were passing through. Solid rock cut through the centre to create a safe passage for the train. Oh, what a marvel humans are!

My eyes were finally getting used to the darkness when, alas! The most magnificent view that I had ever seen made my jaw drop. The vast expanse of greenery on the nearby mountains was outlined by the line of blue mountains stretching across the horizon. Small white clouds dotted the blueness, forming the illusion of little sea waves topped with white foam. Some silver clouds covered the golden rays of the sun as it commenced its majestic rise. Oh, being lucky enough to witness this heavenly view is my pride and utmost joy to this day, and the memory will be stamped on me forever.

Photo taken by my friend. Attached with their permission.

The rest of the journey comprised many divine sceneries that quenched my thirst in ways I never knew existed. After the 12-hour-long train ride, I disembarked at my destination with a plethora of otherworldly memories tucked in my head.

Photo taken by my friend. Attached with their permission.

P.S. If you want to experience this heavenly train ride through paradise, hop on a flight to Sri Lanka, reserve a seat on the train from Colombo to Badulla, grab a snack, and enjoy! I assure you that you will NOT regret this!

Photo taken by my friend. Attached with their permission.

--

--

Yoshani Ranaweera
Digital Global Traveler

I aspire to immerse readers in my travel adventures through vivid storytelling, allowing them to vicariously experience my journeys.