Well, I’ve Never Been To Maine, But I Kind Of Like The Lobster

How many of the fifty states have you visited?

Arthur Keith
Digital Global Traveler

--

A woman is looking at a map.
I know, I know. Who needs maps when you have GPS? A map will give you the big picture of where you’re going, which will help you orient yourself. A phone screen doesn’t do it. Maps are most useful when visiting a large city for the first time. Sometimes you don’t have wifi! Photo by Nick Seagrave on Unsplash.

How I Got to 47

A bucket list item for many people is to visit all fifty states, and many make it. It’s not hard (except for Alaska and Hawaii).

It was on my life’s bucket list (I hate that term), but I’ve decided to settle on forty-seven.

I’ve been to many countries but have never been to the continent of South America. I have enough points in one airline’s frequent flyer program to get there in business class, but I’d have to pay for the way back (in economy!). For this trip, I want to visit Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay. Why Paraguay? Because no one ever goes there! This trip would probably be my swan song for intercontinental travel.

I’m content to spend most of the rest of my life traveling in the U.S. There is so much more to see and do, even in my state.

Here are some stories about how I got to a few of the forty-seven states.

Hawaii

Hawaii became more accessible once I started flying extensively for business. I joined almost every airline’s frequent flyer program and earned awards on most of them.

--

--

Arthur Keith
Digital Global Traveler

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.