Travel & Photography

I Took A Solo Trip to Devils Tower. Here’s what I Saw.

Through the Great Plains of South Dakota and over the Black Hills stands an awesome monument jutting from the Earth

Peter Banasiak
Digital Global Traveler
7 min readMay 18, 2024

--

Mato Tilpa (Devils Tower) looms over the surrounding forest — All Photos taken by the author

“There are things in nature that engender an awful quiet in the heart of man; Devil’s Tower is one of them.” -N. Scott Momaday

There is a certain call to adventure one hears when nature beckons as the cold of winter thaws into the spring. You’ve heard it. As have I.

This past Cinco de Mayo weekend I answered nature’s call and I took a short road trip out west. I drove across my home state of South Dakota towards the Black Hills and into our neighboring state, Wyoming. My goal: stand witness to Devils Tower. In many ways, I stood witness to myself as well.

Deadwood is flanked by tree-covered hills like this

After a long day’s travel across the Great Plains of South Dakota, made it as far as Deadwood, SD before deciding to find a room at a hotel. After passing by so much grassland and novelty billboards for Wall Drug, I wanted to make sure I was ready for the trails around Devils Tower.

--

--

Peter Banasiak
Digital Global Traveler

Blogger, essayist, pizzaiolo. I write at the intersection of identity, philosophy, and self-development. I use what I've learned to help those who wander..