Younger Japanese Women, Older Western Men: How Do the Girls’ Fathers Feel?

I was 13 years older, from a foreign country, and struggled with his language. Would he let me marry his daughter?

Iain Stanley
Digital Global Traveler

--

Image created by the author

“I want you to meet my parents.”

With those seven words, my heart palpitated, my testicles turned to raisins, and my breath got stuck in my throat.

“Meet your parents? Cool.” I said. But I was anything but cool. And this was not cool. The sushi in my tummy was suddenly ready to evacuate. This shit was getting real.

“How old is your dad?” I asked.

“52,” came the answer.

“And your mum?”

“53”

I did the math, first crisis averted — I was 38, my girlfriend 25, which meant I was closer in age to my girl than I was to her dad. Just.

I’d always gotten on well with past girlfriends’ parents but I’d never had such an age gap in a relationship. And to complicate matters further, I was an Australian man in Japan, dating a Japanese girl.

So, how did this Japanese father take to his daughter dating a much older Western man?

--

--

Iain Stanley
Digital Global Traveler

Aussie in Japan creating a 2nd income through writing. For my free 10-point guide to Medium success, click here: https://iain-stanley.ck.page/10pointguide