i felt his gaze

observer observing

Brache
Digital Humanities Project
2 min readDec 10, 2019

--

Bend, boy; bend back on your tongue
not the brow. And let that not quiver
with trepidation, not for the moments
you may doubt I hold your hand in gratitude,
rather than in restraint;
that your mind is too inferior to intercept with
one like mine.

Break fast from your dredge of troubled thought
and let that beautiful air you bring bathe over
your company. I will bring confidence to your
conviction. With care . With courtesy . Without coercion.
Bend back the tongue to where my ear can reach.

observer observed

The eyes are seeing me now within the lateness of the hour because of what they saw occupying my time in the study. Do they also see me entering the strangest slumber, and do they see what queer beauty awaits me?

Should the eyes see me then, I believe I know how they are looking at me now. Should the eyes belong to a simple woman, or even a goddess and the Greek god she bore, how could their eyes differ from these eyes glaring at me now?

A blush that can rise
with the lateness of this hour
could still not save me from this sight.

observer of observing

Sorry that you caught his attention,
he truly doesn’t compliment you.
You should find that out later, but you’ll
dream on. You won’t be safe if you go
looking for that companion. When
you dotted your eye [sic] and when you
crossed the X, you made your mark.
You were seen.
This is a price you pay. But it’ll be far
greater if you are seen with him like
you see yourself being. You’ll be sorry
if you catch any more attention. Sorry
you are being watched and sorry you can’t
be seen. But this is a price you pay.

--

--