BBC’s Viral Video

Cristina Juesas
A wander around digital identity
2 min readMar 17, 2017

I don’t remember whose wall this video was on this past Friday, but I spent a while laughing. In fact, I had one of those moments when you can’t stop laughing and I was almost in tears. I work from home, and I do a lot of videoconferences and, although my kids are older than Robert Kelly’s, they have also entered my office shouting while I was doing a call. The truth is that I wasn’t being interviewed by the BBC, but, in that case, I would have tried to stop them by hiding them with one hand while closing my eyes at the same time and begging for them to disappear, while at the same time avoiding a fit of hysterics. I’m sure my husband would have creeped into the room and dragged them out.

It’s all great: the daughter dancing, the boy with the baby-walker, the woman entering the room skidding, grabbing the girl by an arm and putting her into flight, as she pulls the books from the table (making an even louder noise), the baby-walker, of course, going in reverse, doesn’t fit the door, the hand that darts again from the floor to, finally, close the door… and the crying that is perfectly audible during the rest of the interview. Delirious. The nightmare of any father (and mother) who works from his (her) office at home made real.

That said, I don’t see machismo, or the man being a churl, or a bad dad, or the woman that appears running (I don’t care whether she is the nanny, the maid, the mother, or just someone that was walking around) is meek or in panic (I hallucinate about this. A lot.) I only see a guy at his home office doing a live interview with the BBC (THE BBC!!!!!), who has an incident that can happen to anyone, and everything is so funny that it is fantastic. It reminds me of that scene in the Life of Brian, when a Roman soldier has to hold in a laugh while Biggus Dickuslisps.

We get things so out of proportion that it is amazing.

And then, this gifs that are absolutely wonderful.

--

--

Cristina Juesas
A wander around digital identity

Once I pop, I can't stop! ❀ Dircom. Hub. Consultant. Blogger. Curious. Always ready for new adventures. Licensee & Curator @TEDxVGasteiz. Ikasten ari naiz .·.