The Fantastical Online Life of Nick Rees

Marquaysa Battle
2 min readSep 15, 2015

--

Nick Rees’s social media platforms would tell a reader he’s the go-to guy for light-hearted conversation about really any and everything. Though he regularly contributes to Elite Daily and current attends j-school at NYU, Nick does not use his social media for clichéd ‘branding’.

His goal is to be relatable so instead, he colors the internet with his thoughts on Starbucks lattes and hot celebrities’ latest street style sightings. He said, “I’d like to think that people think I’m funny and that I’m a mess and they can kind of enjoy that”. Scrolling through his Twitter timeline will tell the tale of a funny guy who loves fashion and a hearty piece of juicy gossip.

Other than an incessant amount of coffee talk, you won’t find any incriminating revelations and tidbits on his platforms.

“I limit myself to things I would let my mom read,” said Rees. “I try not to use a lot of profanity”.

Nick frequents Instagram and Twitter most heavily and one may find him online at any time of day. Instead of dropping f-bombs, you can find him throwing beaucoup likes on Instagram (though he posts his own photos minimally). His Twitter tells you he’s a tongue-in-chic guy with a love for The Hills’s super star reality angel, Lauren Conrad.

“…I’m really online like all day. I don’t post a lot on Instagram but I love looking at other people’s stuff. I love pretty pictures”.

Nick also is not the television show live-tweeter or the type to rant about social issues, though this does not diminish his social media presence. There are no #SaveTheWhales or #OccupyInsertLocationHere hashtags nor are there any “Sign this petition” links, which is fine since that’s his dig. However, as fun and relatable as he is, his Facebook and Instagram pages could stand to feature a standing link to his writing — as his thoughts on the declining popularity of selfies and sappy romantic comedies might allow readers to get to know him as well as his LC musings.

What you get on a typical page visit is Cool Guy Nick Rees and a standing link to his pieces would only enhance the coolness.

--

--

Marquaysa Battle

I write and I read, you know the necessary stuff. I’m also a part-time ninja and full-time thinker. Lots of laughter and Black Is Beautiful banners. Say ‘hi’.