A Journey Of Many Failures

Walk With Me Through My Online Journey!

Judging Someone is Easy But Walking In Their Shoes Is Not!

Deon Christie
Digital Marketing Writers (DCM)
7 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

Medium Non-Members Can Read The Full Story HERE!

walk with me on my online journey through affiliate marketing
The image was designed with Canva and uploaded in PNG file format by Deon Christie. The author assumes responsibility for the provenance and copyright. The author assumes responsibility for the authenticity.

What you will learn from this article.

Where I started over a decade ago.

A short summary of my journey.

Exploring options to make money online.

Failing because of some paramount reasons.

Being the next dot com millionaire.

Where I started over a decade ago.

Believe it or don’t, but I started off with extremely limited PC “know-how”. I come from a time before there were computers and the internet. A time when we had to pass school, university degrees, and diplomas without Google.

My “PC knowledge ended at sending an email, and playing music”, a true story. Heck, I’m still typing with two fingers, but after a decade became quite good at it…lol! It’s as if my other digits refuse to come to the party.

But I do surprise myself occasionally when my finger automatically hit the “Shift” for capitalizing. I have my moments, perhaps within the next decade the rest of my fingers will “join the party”.

And to top it all off, I had only a laptop still carved out of stone! Therefore, I had really limited resources. Not to mention I had absolutely no idea about digital marketing and making money online.

I did however have no options left, I had to find a way to make money online, so I could substitute my pension once retired. I simply had to figure out how to make money online with zero knowledge and experience.

Before we proceed though, allow me to say that if I could do it, then absolutely anyone can. It all depends on how badly you want to succeed. How far you’re prepared to go, and how much effort you put in.

A short summary of my journey.

Around 2011, I received an email with an affiliate marketing training program. Needless to say, I failed horribly! Because I had absolutely no idea what I was doing, nor any idea of what they were talking about.

But just because I failed with a particular program, does not necessarily mean the program is junk. It merely meant that it didn’t work for me, and perhaps will work for the next person.

I did however gather quite a bit of knowledge about things I knew nothing about. Like hosting and DNS settings, creating a website or blog, and how to use that for affiliate marketing. Admittedly, my websites and blogssucked”!

But this first attempt sparked an insatiable curiosity that drives me still. I soon became obsessed with understanding the logic behind making money online. Because all I knew was that I had to find a way to substitute my income!

Like many beginners, I was so busy chasing all the shiny objects and the next best thing. I lost focus on a much larger picture. I got accounts suspended, worked through some nasty comments and dealt with it.

Faced failure, devastation, and desperation so many times that I lost count. It seemed like everything I tried was just a waste of time, all the while building up an arsenal of knowledge which I didn’t realize at the time.

After trying just about everything online, I realized that I was missing one primary ingredient. And since I started exploring and adding that ingredient, everything started to change for the better. But we will get to that in a bit.

I did admittedly consider just letting go and giving up, more times than I care to mention. Because I started losing money I couldn’t really spend, and everything looked really dark most of the time.

But I made a stand. I was not going to stop until I succeeded. And today I am so glad I didn’t give up. Always remember that the harder your struggle is, the sweeter success will taste.

Exploring options to make money online.

During my journey, apart from having to learn how to use my PC beyond copy/paste. I also had to explore and understand the logic behind making money online. So, I started with affiliate marketing.

Again, failing astronomically. Following the wrong advice from people just out to make a buck. But still, it didn’t stop me. I was going to succeed no matter what, and no matter what life threw at me.

Then started broadening my horizon, by doing too many things at once, and soon found myself drowning in an ocean of information overload. My head was spinning. I learned a great deal about the topics below.

Blogging And SEO.

YouTube Video SEO.

Writing Articles.

Affiliate marketing.

Digital Marketing.

Writing And Publishing eBooks.

Building Websites.

Using Google Sites.

Creating Quality Content.

Using Necessary Tools.

Email List Building.

Viral List Building.

Building Trust And Recognition.

However, that is not the extent of it, but rather just the more important bits of my journey. Or shall I say, more important bits of the knowledge I have had the privilege to obtain?

My efforts soon turned into a “train wreck”, with nothing working, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. Everything I have put in place, and all I have done would play an important part later in my online career.

Failing because of some paramount reasons.

Well, actually six paramount reasons, and ingredients to success I have overlooked in my rush to “make money faster”. Not going to happen, by the way. It requires time and nothing less than maximum effort.

After some time following advice and paying attention to what the 6 and 7-figure earners were doing, I came to one conclusion. There were a few things they all had in common. The six paramount ingredients for online success.

Their Own Digital Products Online.

Their Own Online Audiences.

Their Own Large Email Lists.

Their Own Exclusive Content.

They Already Built Up Recognition And Trust.

Their Own Content Marketing Strategies.

I realized that I was going to have to rearrange my efforts and start creating order. Because at that point, I had hundreds of things done and in place but was only halfway through. I didn’t follow through. I didn’t keep going with one thing until successful.

No, I was trying to be successful with everything all at once. Big mistake, you should never try to do that. It is impossible to do everything all at once. My biggest mistake was not realizing that I failed to recognize and apply these five strategies.

Time And Timing.

Content Marketing Strategies.

Focus On One Thing At A Time.

High Quality Content.

Moderate Consistency.

So I started getting into content marketing strategies. And providing content with solutions to problems, answers to questions, guides to reach goals, and giving away free stuff. Then it all changed.

As if everything I had done before just started to fall into place. So, trust me when I say, nothing you do online is in vain, not even the failures. Especially not the failures.

Because that is how you gather the knowledge to outperform your competitors. I started creating order with the knowledge I had gained, and that made a world of difference.

I shifted my focus from trying to generate sales and make money online to offering valuable solutions. And in that getting recognized and gaining my audience’s trust. I should have focused on that much sooner!

Being the next dot com millionaire.

A dream I am sure that I am not the only one. But that kind of income will take years, and even decades to achieve. Nonetheless, I am not stopping before I reach this point. Although I have been making money online, I am not in the 6 and 7-figure earner club…yet.

I want to experience the rush of receiving that award from Clickbank for making one million dollars within one year. How long that will still take, I don’t care. It is my dream, and no amount of laughter can dampen my spirit.

No amount of criticism can stop me, and no matter how many times I have to “start over” with something. I don’t care because there is no stopping me! Find your dream to work towards and refuse to stop until it is a reality.

You must make the freedom you crave greater than the need you feel. If it is true freedom you seek, and it is important enough, not only will you find a way but you will also be unstoppable.

If other people can become dot com millionaires by doing exactly what you and I are doing. Then why can’t we? There is absolutely no reason why we can’t be the next dot com millionaires.

Because the only 2 things that separate us from them are time and knowledge. And that is why we need to work so much harder because if we want to be better, we are going to have to work 10 times harder to “catch up”.

Watch us rank videos on page one in 60 seconds and get targeted visitors from the two largest search engines on Earth! Google and YouTube! That’s 147 billion visitors per month! — Source

AFFILIATE DISCLOSURE: Some of the links in this post are links to affiliate offers. If you visit them to make a purchase, I will earn a commission. The decision is yours, and whether or not you decide to buy something is entirely up to you. All offers come with a full money-back guarantee!

Free Stuff For My Medium Subscribers.

All new subscribers on Medium will receive 4 free gifts. 2 of my top traffic eBooks, and 2 free memberships (invitation only) for buyer traffic tools I use. Subscribe to me (Deon Christie) on Medium and your free stuff will be emailed to you asap. Medium has no affiliation, nor do they endorse the free giveaway in any way. It is my personal free giveaway to all new Medium subscribers.

--

--

Deon Christie
Digital Marketing Writers (DCM)

Article Writing SEO For Affiliate Marketing | Free Buyer Traffic Methods. On Medium Since October 2022. Online Since 2011. https://easyinternetmoneyandjobs.com