Alex Cooper Presents..

Brianna Denny
Digital & Media Lit COM 250
2 min readFeb 12, 2024

When thinking about potential digital authors to focus on for this project, Alex Cooper was the first person that came to mind. In the podcast field, Call her daddy was one of the first major success stories. It began in 2018, when Alex joined forces with her then co-host, Sofia Franklyn. The two started this podcast on Barstool’s network, where they became known for their raunchy, shocking, content. It was designed to cater to the female perspective and experience. Discussing topics like sex, partying, dating, etc. However, as the podcast evolved and changed, the content shifted towards an interview style. I have chosen to focus on the evolution of this podcast, and Alex. The evolution of media is a topic that is touched on in the textbook, and one that I believe is very important to understand and acknowledge. I have selected two podcast episodes, and chosen to highlight the difference in these two segments. Specifically in regards to Alex’s interview style, and the way she addresses guests.

I have selected a series of images that pertain to the evolution of the show, and its content. Including the image on the cover of the show earlier on, and the updated one. The earlier cover showcases Alex and her former co-host Sofia, and the updated one is a solo shot of Alex. As well as screenshots of the two episodes I am comparing, and two images of Alex to show the audience who she is.

During this process, I found myself struggling a bit with the software. I am not very experienced with different platforms, and am not fully familiar with the way to use it effectively. Once I gathered all of the information I wanted to include, and answered the questions needed, I was able to start the process of lining it up. I wanted to be sure to effectively convey the evolution of Call Her Daddy’s content. As it was the main point of my thesis. In order to do so, I had to watch both interviews all the way through, and take mental note of the differences I saw each time around. Once that was completed, I created an outline with all of the points I wanted to make. Followed by a script for my screen recording video, which I utilized during my recording and referenced often. This was a big help to me during the completion of this project. It was very beneficial to have a compiled list of all of the necessary information. Overall, I enjoyed working on this very much. As I feel like it helped me learn to use different types of software, and analyze media on a deeper level than I used to.

My Video: https://youtu.be/wK1YPMHnwgc

--

--