Elyse Myers: Funny Cuz It’s True

Emily Jeffrey
Digital & Media Lit COM 250
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

For the Leap 1 Assignment I decided to focus on Elyse Myers. Elyse is a TikTok creator, comedian, YouTuber, and the author of the podcast “Funny cuz it’s true”. She is most popular on TikTok with an average of just over 7 million followers on this platform alone. Elyse originally became famous on TikTok in October of 2021 when she posted a “storytime” about the worst date she had ever been on. The video soon went viral and she quickly grew popular as she continued to post more funny story times from her everyday life. While the purpose of her content is to entertain, Elyse also struggles with ADHD and anxiety which she occasionally talks about in her content with the purpose of promoting mental well-being.

In my screen-o-matic I shared many photos of Elyse as well as many pictures of her content. I wanted to show the audience exactly who she is and what she stands for. I chose not to include any videos as all of her content is her talking which would distract from the points I was discussing. However, her content always utilizes closed captioning so through some of the images you can get an idea of what her content looks like.

One of the main struggles I had with this assignment was navigating screen-o-matic and learning how to use it. It definitely took me a few practice runs to understand how to work the software. In the past I always used Screencastify so this was definitely new to me. However, I definitely had a breakthrough as I was successfully able to use screen-o-matic after doing a few test runs and watching the tutorial.

Another thing I struggled with was using the key concepts and critical questions to analyze Elyse’s content. It’s so easy for me to enjoy and watch her videos, however, it was definitely hard to actually take them apart to break down the meaning and purpose. Yet, I enjoyed being able to take a different approach towards viewing content and it felt more meaningful to me as a viewer.

Watch my Leap #1 about Elyse here: https://youtu.be/6bJmYhawMk0

Listen to Funny Cuz It’s True on Spotify!

Find Elyse on TikTok: @elysemyers

--

--