Evangelina Petrakis

Zoe Scalise
Digital & Media Lit COM 250
3 min readFeb 12, 2024

There were many things that drew me to choose Evangelina Petrakis as my digital author for this assignment. I first discovered Evange on tiktok as I regularly watched her videos and eventually I became a follower on instagram. After following her on those forms of social media I eventually found her on youtube as well and learned more about her, her life, and her jewelry brand. Like many of her followers, I then explored her jewelry and became a constant shopper of her pieces. I would look at her tiktok, instagram, and website for inspiration for my outfits, jewelry, makeup, and more which, overall, is the ultimate goal of her account. In order to stay as on brand, entertaining, and relevant as she can she creates quick and interesting content which is extremely popular today due to the influx of use in tiktok videos which average around thirty seconds. This allows for her video ideas to be put out often and constantly, all of which are in an attempt to grab the viewer’s eye and keep their attention. This further adds to her business as most of her customers, much like myself, are coming from some form of her social media. Along with this she is adamant about staying connected with her fans and customers by reposting and interacting with not only her famous and influential customers but also regular people interested in her pieces. More times than not, if you tag her brand or her in any form of post she will interact with it which makes customers feel important and makes them want to come back to her website for more. Throughout my creative process, I learned more and more about the start of her brand and what sparked her interest in entrepreneurship. She discovered she was interested in starting a brand while tie dying clothing and selling it out of her garage in 2020 during the pandemic. After this blew up she became more and more interested in running a whole brand of her own. She would often get compliments and questions on her jewelry as collecting unique pieces was something she was extremely passionate about. She ended up going viral after posting a jewelry tour video which was posted to her tiktok and gained a large amount of followers overnight. Ultimately, she then decided to start a jewelry brand of her own for her current and future followers. This idea started a very small business and grew into a large jewelry brand, selling pieces for almost $200 coming in both gold and silver, bracelets, rings, earrings, necklaces, and charms. Some struggles in this project was finding the most information as she is still a smaller digital author and making sure I included and shared the most important and necessary information for this assignment. A breakthrough moment I had is learning about how she started her business and more about her family. I was able to connect opinions from people on the internet to things she’s shared about herself in order to truly learn about her. Overall, I feel that she is an amazing example of a young, solar, entrepreneur and digital creator that took a dream and turned it into something successful.

--

--