Sara Carrolli: BookTuber

Lucia Given
Digital & Media Lit COM 250
2 min readFeb 12, 2024

I chose Sara Carrolli for this project because she was one of the first BookTubers that I watched and actually took book recommendations from. Her and one of her best friends, Destiny Sidwell who is also a BookTuber), are some of the most well known BookTubers on YouTube. While her videos do mainly focus on book content, she does also do “day in my life videos”, clothing hauls, and just weekly reset videos. For my thesis statement, the topic that I would like to focus on is chapter 2 “Uses and Gratification”. Sara creates a place where people who share a common interest can come together and feel part of a group. Sara’s channel gives people an escape, she prides her self on being a reader and BookTuber (status), and a place where she can give her opinions on authors and books that she enjoys (social). Carrolli has a wide variety of content that she posts and has a way of making her videos calming and aesthetically pleasing. Sara Carrolli is entertaining, personable, enthusiastic about what she is talking about, and has a lot of knowledge when it comes to books. Carrolli has a way of getting her viewers attention and somehow making them feel like they are apart of the content. All of these qualities and more are what make Sara Carrolli a popular BookTuber and a good example of the ideal content creator.

In my video made with screen-o-matic I chose to focus on the fact that Sara Carrolli is the ideal content creator. She creates a space on her channel were people can go to interact with people with common interest and feel a sense of togetherness. Carrolli is also able to create an identity for herself through her channel which also falls under the topics discussed in Chapter 2 of our textbooks.

Some of the main challenges that I experienced while completing this project are learning to use all of these new websites and online tools. I also somewhat had a hard time actually applying the things that we have learned to the content that I watch. However, that was also a breakthrough for me. I am becoming more aware of the impacts of the content I watch, how the creator is using the topics we discuss in class in everyday life. It is definitely an interesting experience to have a new perspective on the media. I also feel like getting a little more comfortable with new resources and tools will benefit me in the near and far future.

Watch my video (click the link): https://youtu.be/HxHkny2JRQc?si=x08tlAY35UJXm2Af

Follow Sara on YouTube: @SaraCarrolli

Follow Sara on Instagram: @saracarrolli

--

--