The Banning of TikTok

Hogan Tierney
Digital & Media Lit COM 250
2 min readApr 28, 2024

Leap 3 Document

Reflection

This leap project was one I had to think hard about before diving in. I knew I wanted to do something with the possible ban of TikTok and if the government should have the power to do so. This is something that I still am not sure there is a right answer too. I was hoping doing more research would help me find my answer and I believe it did. This is such a strange situation to have happen since it is considered going against the First Amendment. But after doing research Congress’s excuse to go against the amendment is because this is a national security threat.

The question I chose to do this evaliation on is Should Congress have the right to ban TikTok and did my research on the two sides of the argument to see what was more reasonable. Ι went into my video starting off defending the reasons TikTok shouldnt be banned. Then I discussed the reasons why Congress should be allowed to pass the ban and the reasoning behind it. Finally, I talked about the conclusion of what is going to be happening and what I think should happen.

Doing this project really swayed me to both sides understanding each point and their reasoning behind them. Ive realized it probably is for the better for TikTok to be banned. Its controls a percentage of the population and feeds them misinformation which is a threat to the US’s security of its population. Not to mention they keep pushing violent agendas to stir conflicts.

Video is submitted under Luke Schmidt

--

--