Leap 1: Desi Perkins

Ariel Goncalves Tavares
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readMar 8, 2021

For as long as I can remember I have always watched youtubers ranging in different varieties. From singing artists, to comedians, to makeup artists, I was a fan of it all. Now as I grow older, I’m becoming more aware of who I am, what I like and dislike in terms of media and a lot of it has filtered out over the years. No longer am I watching the comedy or the cringey stuff as I see it now but rather videos that gain my interest or help me learn something useful.

One influencer I had found on this journey of discovering myself is Desi Perkins, she is a beauty, fashion, and lifestyle influencer who I’ve been following for years now. Not only is it her style that I love but the content she puts out with her family. The spending time with her aunts and siblings to the gardening and even traveling the world. It reminds me of my own life, but it also drives me to want to be more creative and do more.

Most digital authors aren’t as raw and transparent on real issues going on and just show the happy side of who they are or their industry. Desi however shows it all and displays it with little hesitation. This is one of the many things I admire about her.

When I began re-watching a lot of her videos for the assignment, I found it difficult to write and record. I had written over and over things I could say, and it didn’t seem to flow together at all. When it came to finding clips to put in that go along with what I’m saying it was difficult and re-filming myself speak was also getting difficult. However, cutting down the clips whenever I felt myself getting tongue tied and working my way around certain problems helped.

One video that truly helped was re-watching her fertility journey, it brought back my awareness on the topic at hand and also reminded me of what she kept saying in each of her videos. Being thankful, forgiving, and pushing through. I took a small break and refocused finding it to be much simpler to find what I wanted to speak on. Looking on her media pages as well as through her YouTube helped with finding clips for the video.

Desi Perkins is one digital author I admire so re-watching her clips not only gave me another point of view and helped me learn something new; It also reminded me why she is one of my favorites. I think a lot of times when we watch someone on the internet it’s hard to separate the fake from reality and realizing that they have gone through a lot of what we have. Desi came from humble beginnings with nothing along with her husband and they both worked extremely hard to get where they are today. It shows that if I work as hard and put my all into it my dream can come true as well.

--

--