Kendall Rae: Digital Author

Janae Shirinian
Digital & Media Literacy
2 min readMar 9, 2021

Kendall Rae would have to be one of my favorite digital authors. She is a 27 year old woman from Boston Massachusetts. She has been creating videos since 2012 and has almost 957,000 subscribers, with over 999 million views. Her channel is all about free thinking. Her topics range from anything interesting, to true crime, unsolved mysteries, politics, world travel, space and ocean exploration, history, astrology, strange incidents/phenomenon and a little paranormal activity. She uses thumbnails and titles that attract people who are interested in these topics, which is how she targets her audience. She knows her audience enjoys videos that have some sort of element of mystery, so this is what she sticks to when posting content. Ever since she created a youtube to talk about these topics, it has become a much more popular theme for vloggers to use. However before this, it was a relatively new niche to explore.

Creating this screencast video was definitely a learning experience for me. I haven’t made many videos in the past like this, and it was challenging because there was a lot of different steps that all needed to come together. After recording all of the content that I wanted to be in my video, I did some research about Kendall. I then recorded my voice over. Using IMovie, I was able to edit everything together into one video. It was hard to import my media, but once I figured out how to convert everything, I just had to organize it into the order of how I wanted it to be viewed.

“Kendall Rae.” Wikitubia, youtube.fandom.com/wiki/Kendall_Rae.

--

--