LEAP 1 — Corridor Crew

Andrew Dionizio
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readMar 8, 2021

Our first LEAP project for the semester was a fun and easy way to be able to dive into the world of media and take a closer look at its many authors. For my project, I first started out early this week by brainstorming ideas about what content creator I wanted to do this project on. I knew I wanted to do a YouTuber but it was hard picking from the select few that I watch regularly but eventually, I made my decision. Corridor Crew ultimately was the right decision because throughout the project I continued to notice just how their content and daily lives can be influential to many.

The next step in my to-do list was finding a good, easy application to edit and create the video I had envisioned. I played around with the Screencast-o-Matic and I thought it was a little difficult to use to be able to create a video the length that we needed. I then went and read some other blogs that I had already been posted and a few I read found it to be a little outdated as well so I decided to google the best video editing software. After a while of searching for one, I found a website called Clipchamp, which was very easy to navigate and use while piecing everything together. Screencast-o-Matic was not completely useless though as I used to it record smaller videos of my screen, save them, and then use them later in my project.

After finding Clipchamp and feeling confident to start the project I began writing my script. I wanted to keep everything short and right to the point as it could only be a maximum video of 3 minutes. I split my narration into 4 separate parts with each one addressing a different question on the criteria page. The first was a simple introductory paragraph of the channel, the intended audience of the channel, and the types and variety of videos they make. The next two paragraphs were short blurbs about the content they create and how they do it. The last section was the most difficult to write but also the most interesting. I wanted to start off with how people may interpret their videos but then transition into how I interpret them and why I find their youtube channel and the content they make to be so good.

The last step in my process, and the most tedious, was to piece everything together. I would first record myself reading each paragraph of my script on my phone and move the files to my computer. This took a decent amount of time because I wanted to get the narration perfect and not mispronounce any words or anything. Then, I would drag the audio files into Clipchamp and start the pictures and videos. I tried to get screenshots and screen recordings that matched perfectly to where I was in the narration. After a long time of adding all of these things together, I finally had finished and was happy with the final product and the way everything came out.

All in all, I really enjoyed this type of project. It was not that hard and allowed us to pick something we are interested in and I think that makes for the best work. I was surprised at how much I actually learned about Corridor Crew and how this class has made me think about their channel in ways I have not before.

Citations

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=corridor+crew

--

--