Ordinary Creativity: Theprimeagen

Johann Karl Muller
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readMar 7, 2021

I was challenged to make a screencast applying new knowledge I had gained during COM250 classes and it was really hard. I don’t really have that one youtuber or digital media creator that I follow, so choosing one to be analyzed was not an easy task. Since the time I first learned about the challenge I started to pay attention to every video and every search I did on youtube. Sometimes explored channels to see how interesting or what I could get from it. It took me a great amount of time to decide about whom I would get and after spending a few, not say several, hours on youtube trying to figure out whom would be best for this project, I made up my mind and “Theprimeagen” was selected.

Great! The subject has been selected. So now comes the easy part, all I had to do is record some images and talk about the creator, informing who he is, what is his purpose, who is his audience, what means he uses to achieve his purposes and keep his audience interested and what is omitted. Ha ha, jokes on me. Easy? It might appear easy for someone with experience or trained on media literacy, but it is not easy to recognize all the aspects that make a good video. As you can see, I mention some aspects in my screencast, but this creator might have more strategies to keep his videos interesting.

Alright, after watching a few of his videos and taking notes of what could answer all those questions, it was my turn to try to build a good, enjoyable video. After some help from office hours, I tried to insert videos or pieces of it, but the tool was not working as it was showed me, so to achieve my objective I had to screen record a piece of the video I wanted and insert it as video file. I’ve chosen some images and made a “montage”.

English is my second language and I couldn’t make the video sound natural. I’ve tried a few recordings, but the more I tried the worst I got it. Maybe I was getting nervous or anxious and after the second recording I started to choke on some words, it was terrible. In addition, the sound was very low, and I had to try several different processes to see if I could make it louder, and, although it is louder now, it is still hard to understand some words. I guess having the proper equipment would help a lot in video production.

If you have never done something similar to the project presented here, you should definitely try it. The whole process is a lot of fun and I learned a lot from it. Unfortunately, the time for this project is over and I’ll have to move on to the next project, but I’ll sure repeat this process more times in the future whenever I get some free time. Now, every time I watch a video, I catch myself observing and analyzing the means used to make the video interesting or appealing.

Works Cited:

--

--