Why Do Media Stereotypes Matter?

Julia Hoddinott
Digital & Media Literacy
2 min readApr 8, 2022

By: Julia Hoddinott

Reflection

I thoroughly enjoyed this process of collaborating with a partner and creating a video to display our knowledge on our topics. For this leap, my partner, Erica, and I worked on the topic of stereotypes in the media and how they affect children in specific. We used Adobe Creative Cloud Express as our platform, which was a new application to me at the start of this project. It was surprisingly easy to figure out for the first time and allowed me and my partner to collaborate easily and on our own time. My partner was very easy to work with, and we communicated frequently via email in order to get our work sorted equally and done. She answered any and all questions I had and I tried to do the same for her. The experience was really good and we worked well together in getting our work done in a timely manner. There were not any issues that we ran into at all in my opinion to reflect on. As for the highlights of this project, doing partner work to complete the work was much more fun than doing it on our own as I am someone who loves the communication aspect of school. I liked bouncing my ideas about the topics in class off of someone else in the class, as we don’t get to do that as often. On top of that, I was really interested in our topic too which made it that much more exciting to talk about. Overall, this project was straightforward, fun to make, gave us a creative outlet, and it was different for an online class. This was definitely my favorite leap we have done for this class so far.

--

--