LEAP 5 Personal Reflection

Kaelin Cegelski
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readApr 12, 2022

This was a very unique experience for me. I enjoyed working with Johnathan, as he was a great partner. It was fun to collaborate with someone else in the class. I really enjoyed researching a topic of our choice and relating it back to the concepts we have learned. We chose digital media marketing because I am a digital media manager for BayPath Elder Services and Caregiver MetroWest. I also used to work as a content creator, and a PR and content intern before that. I have a lot of experience in this field, which made it really fun for me to relate my personal knowledge and experience back to work I’m doing in class.

It was interesting to find the concepts we have learned about and integrate them into the content for our project. Jonathan and I split the work up by focussing on different aspects of the content. He chose to use content from the book while I gathered outside resources.

The use of digital tools was a great way to incorporate media literacy into the project. I loved that we were able to choose the tools we wanted to use. I felt that this was able to highlight my abilities well, and engage me with the assignment.

So those were the highlights. However, there were certainly lowlights. As comes with technology, we had some major challenges. I was using an online video editing platform and unfonteuly halfway through the video it froze, then the audio and video got completely unaligned somehow. It took me forever to figure out what was going on, and I ended up having to start over and switch platforms. After that, I tried to upload the video to YouTube. The video was only 6 minutes long. I’ve uploaded videos upwards of 40 minutes before, so it should have been no problem. However for some reason it would not upload. It kept reloading and freezing. I was so frustrated because I was working with a partner and I felt so bad that I had taken responsibility for uploading the video and it was my fault it wouldn’t be done on time.

After a while I gave up and uploaded the video to Google Drive, which went smoothly. From there, I shared it with Johnathan who had no troubles opening it. He then took over the uploading responsibilities. The deadline part was hard because I have so much other class work in addition to a full time job. I often lose track of my assignments or end up finishing my work late because I have so much on my plate at once. However, because I was working with a partner I made sure to prioritize my work on the assignment. Had it not been for the major technical difficulties, we would have easily submitted the assignment on time. I take full responsibility for that, and ask that any repercussions of the late submission fall to me entirely.

Overall, it was a great project to do and I really enjoyed the experience. I thought it integrated what we learned very well and allowed us to practice the digital media literacy we have been learning about. It was also really fun to use my work skills in my school work.

I included the sources that I used on the project below, however most of the knowledge was from my own experience in the workforce.

Sources:

Evolution, Marketing. “Digital Marketing Platform Guide: Definition & Examples: Marketing Evolution.” Digital Marketing Platform Guide: Definition & Examples | Marketing Evolution, https://www.marketingevolution.com/marketing-essentials/what-is-a-digital-marketing-platform-marketing-evolution.

Koepp, Anne Sep, et al. “Which (Digital) Marketing Strategy Is Most Effective?” Top Floor, 10 Jan. 2022, https://www.topfloortech.com/blog/which-digital-marketing-strategy-is-most-effective/#gref.

Pearse, Justin. “Digital Media Literacy: The Most Valuable Skill for the Digital Age.” New Digital Age, 10 Aug. 2020, https://newdigitalage.co/technology/digital-media-literacy-the-most-valuable-skill-for-the-digital-age/.

--

--