Leap #5 Written Assignment

Michelle Conner
Digital & Media Literacy
2 min readApr 10, 2022

For Leap #5 I partnered with Zak G and the topic we choose was mainstream media. We choose this topic because we could easily relate it to the recent topic regarding Russia and Ukraine. The Cambridge Dictionary defines mainstream media as the forms of the media, especially tradiaiotnal forms such as newspapers, television, and radio rather than the interne, that influence large numbers of people and are likely to represent generally accepted beliefs and opinions. Since there are multiple different forms of how people get news and we decided to compare those to the news regarding Russia.

Something that I really enjoyed about working on this assignment was being able to interact with other students in our class. Zak and I were able to collaborate our ideas to be able make it into one project. Another thing that I enjoyed about this project was figuring out how we were going to put it all together. Before this assignment, I have never used Creative Cloud Adobe before. It was fun playing around with all the differnt features that are given to us. After playing around with these features Zak and I were able to put together a fun video about mainstream media. Along with that, I were able to include animations or fun fonts that could easily grab a person’s attention.

At the same time, there were some troubles when working on our project. It is obvious that we are different people so Zak and I both had different ideas. It took many trial and errors, but with communication Zak and I were able to put together a project with high potential. Another issue that we ran into was difficulties putting together the video. Like I previously mentioned, Creative Cloud Adobe was a new system for me so it took some time and playing around with all the features to be able to put together slides that look presentable. Overall, leap #5 was overall a great experience when broadening my knowledge on mainstream media.

https://youtu.be/m1SZZzHUqeI

--

--