Ideas and Information I will Remember Most From COM250

Emily Barton
Digital & Media Literacy
12 min readMay 1, 2022

10. Direct and Indirect Revenue Streams in Media

What is it?

There are companies that sell you things, and there are companies that sell you. Basically, media companies make their money by listening to its users, the reason Instagram, TikTok, and Snapchat are so valuable is because the users are so valuable. My Instagram posts bring other people into the site to view and interact with it, which in turn leads them to posting to their feed which brings even more people into the site, it is one big cycle of exposure. Through this interaction process, Instagram can collect data on based on the posts you like and comment on, things you search for, and accounts you follow. Even if you dont interact with a post at all, Instagram takes into account how long you viewed a post. All this data helps them produce ads targeted specifically toward you and your taste, and these ads are worth more than what they cost to produce.

Why is it meaningful to me?

In “You are the product” by John Green, he tells the audience that we probably think we dont even pay attention to the ads we are shown, however, thats what advertising companies want you to think. However, as I scroll through Instagram I am proof that these ads do work, and I even contribute to the half a trillion dollar ad revenue from social media platforms. Although there is not much I can do to stop being shown ads, I am now more informed on why I am being shown specific ads. I can also make sure I really need that cool new item I was shown an ad for before I run to amazon to buy it.

9. Digital Minimalism

What is it?

Digital minimalism is the idea of taking a step back from all of the extra applications on our phones in order to rebuild your digital life for what works for you, and not getting in the way of all the things you care about outside of the digital realm. In order to see the things we really need out of our cell phones and laptops, you have to eliminate the extra things that we just want and enjoy from these devices. It is important to self reflect on what you truly want to be spending your time doing, that isn’t scrolling through TikTok or Instagram for 2 hours.

Why is it meaningful to me?

I am a self proclaimed phone addict (what 22 year old isn't), and much of my day is centered around checking social media to see what my friends are doing, who the latest canceled celebrity is, and just for entertainment when I get bored of doing things that I actually need to be doing.. like this essay. Although my phone is an important tool that I need for sending and receiving emails about my classes, communicating with my parents, and staying informed on real news, it has become something I rely on in every aspect. In order to keep my phone from becoming my task master, I am going to take the next week during finals, to delete all the extra apps I have on my phone, and put time into studying and being present with my friends during my last month at URI.

8. Cultural Capital

What is it?

Pierre Bourdieu is a grandfather of media literacy, who explained how media use offers people access to different forms of value, status, and power. His Theory of Capital, which explains the currency that buy you higher position in society, or power, and what decides your roll in the social roll. Cultural capital is described as what you have and what you know. Social capital is who you know. This depends on your social network, and the amount of connections you have and the power of those people. The source of this social capital stems from social, economic, and cultural structures that create power and status for specific individuals and not others. Basically, social norms that generate advantage for specific demographics.

Why is it meaningful to me?

This idea can be applied to how I present myself on social media, and who I pay attention to as influencers and celebrities in the online sphere. It is important to be mindful of why I present myself the way I do. For example, on Instagram I post myself almost always with my hair done neatly, with a nicer, trendier outfit on than I wouldn’t wear on a normal day, and my makeup done. It is important I take into consideration that I do this because people in power, like influencers, do the same, and I model myself off what they do. These influencers though, are normally white women, because society has historically placed white people in positions of power, and that many times these white influencers are copying the fashion and vernacular of people of color. I think it is important to be informed on the status given to certain people based on their social capital, and why we are “influenced” by the types of people we are.

7. Global Internet Censorship

What is it?

During politically sensitive times, like elections, protests, and conflicts, governments “shut down” the internet in the interest of stopping unrest, and the spread of fake news. However, these shut downs actually cripple economies and disrupt the daily life of those affected citizens, all while infringing on civil rights. Internet censorship also applies to what information can be put on the internet or not. Therefore, there are countries that limit the access of information, like important news and updates surrounding conflicts and wars, to suppress and silence discussions among citizens.

Why is it meaningful to me?

In the video “How Governments Shut Down the Internet” by the Wall Street Journal, they give examples of Internet Censorship in countries like Venezuela during the height of a political crisis, when an opposition leader tried to seize power from the president by live streaming on Twitter with a group of soldiers behind him. His call to action was viewed around the world, it was blocked by the government to Venezuelan citizens. I think a lot of people in the US think that this doesnt affect us as much as it does in coutries with a tyrannical leadership style or with a lot of civic unrest, in reality however, we were added to Reporters Without Borders list of countries with the highest level of censorship and surveillance. This can be seen in 2007, when Verizon blocked the abortion rights group, NARAL Pro-Choice America, from using their text messaging services to speak to their supporters. This is a direct violation to the groups freedom of speech, and our right to receive all news and information as it comes in, so that we can form our own unfiltered opinions.

6. My Digital Media Identity

What is it?

It is no secret that in a world saturated with digital media, it has a direct affect on our sense of self and identity. What we post and interact with build our digital identity, and in turn, your personal identity to those who know you primarily from the internet. It is no longer enough to meet someone and let your personality build their opinion on you, because they likely already have one based on how you present yourself online. Because of the increasing permanence of the internet, it is more hard to avoid or break free from past identities or phases in our lives. Although your digital identity can be seen as a way to present yourself in the best light to people, the availability of past photos, tweets, and even messages has taken away the privacy of the adolescent era, where adolescents are expected to trial new things and new identities without fear of consequence. We all have an embarrassing photo you cant escape on our moms Facebook, however in more serious cases, this can feed into cancel culture, and the notion that you can no longer make a mistake, learn from it, and grow as a learning member of society.

Why is it meaningful to me?

I think it is important to be mindful of the things i’m posting, and how that plays into my digital identity. For example, I consciously make sure I post on Instagram with a filter, makeup done and hair done. In the same sense though, I'm more likely to post myself with alcohol, at a party/bar, or with a slightly inappropriate caption, becasue it is 98% my friends who follow me on that platform. On Facebook however, where my following is primarily my family and friends of my parents (adults), I don’t post with alcohol, I keep my text family friendly, and I am more likely to post the fundraisers I participate in with my sorority. I think its important to keep in mind that everyone has an embarrassing, or maybe offensive, digital footprint that wasn't considered those things in the past. Although the identity I created back in 2012 when I downloaded Instagram in permanent, I have grown emotionally, mentally, and physically in the past 10 years, and my mindset in not the same.

5. Social Learning Theory

What is it?

Albert Bandura’s Social Learning Theory suggests that social behavior is learned by observing and imitating the behavior of others. Although this theory was created in the 1960s, it is being applied to the impact of seeing violence in media while growing up in the 21st century. In the 60s, it was observed that many abusers were raised in an abusive household, and therefore learned the behavior at a young age, and imitated the behavior in their adulthood. Today, there is clear and consistent evidence that violence in media causes real life aggression and violence, especially in teens and young adults who grew up watching and playing violent action films and video games.

Why is it meaningful to me?

While the connections between violence in media and violence in childhood are important, I find that this aspect of the social learning theory does not apply to me too much, as I didn’t grow up playing violent video or games, or watching violent movies/tv shows. I do think that I can apply this theory to why I act the way I do. For example, I grew up watching High School Musical, Camp Rock, and all those Disney Channel movies and TV shows. I always found myself drawn to the cool girl antagonist, like Sharpay Evans, who was always a selfish rich girl that was almost always the most popular girl in school. That’s not to say I act overly selfish, but I definitely grew up trying to act way more cool than I was, and in turn I have taken the role in friend group as the “selfish one.” Its a role I can admit to, but I think my fondness for those cool girls in Disney Channel movies definitely shaped the way I present myself and act today.

4. Media and Gender Stereotypes

What is it?

Gender stereotypes are the certain beliefs that differentiate how women and men are or should be. These beliefs frequently address personality traits, phsyical characteristics, role behaviors, and occupations. In the 21st century, youth learn gender norm expectations through the mainstream media. It has been found that television programs that target youths comprised of 60% or more of boys/men, outnumbering female characters. The study also found that girls in TV shows focus more on their physical appearance, are mote often judged for their appearance, and are more likely to be sexualized than boys. Exposure to these stereotypes at a young age will lead to viwers adopting social attitudes aligned with the distorted view presented.

Why is it meaningful to me?

As a female, I am directly affected by the distorted norms depicted in TV, and often find myself playing into them. I grew up watching Disney and Nickelodeon, and studies have found that female characters in these programs are more concerned about their appearance, and more likely to receive comments about their looks than male charcters. As a result, I put a lot of focus into my physical appearance when I go out in public, even on days when I am not doing anything super important. I wear at least concealer and mascara everyday, and do heavier makeup when I am going to a big event. This is a result of stereotypes portrayed in TVs and Movies I watched growing up, and I now play into the trait that women care more about our appearance than men. I think now it is important that I am mindful of the presence of these stereotypes in the media I consume today, and can recognize that it is not a true reflection of the role woman have in society today.

3. Personalized persuasion (advertisements in social media)

What is it?

In digital advertising, this form of highly personalized marketing tries to show consumers the right ad at the right time. Today, advances in big data analytics and AI tools allow social media ads to be personalized for each individual consumer, and be shown to you at the exact right time. Retargeting campaigns is the practice of sending targeted advertising to people who’ve already interacted with a website. Everyone has had a “my phone is listening to me” moment, when you were shown an ad for a product you were just talking about. Creepy as it may be, you probably made a search for whatever the product was, and this data was collected and you were shown an ad for the same product a couple days later. Marketing companies try to show you these ads when you are most vulnerable, and therefore most likely to click the ad and hopefully buy the product.

Why is it meaningful to me?

I have a habit of seeing a TikTok video of a “must have Amazon Haul,” and jumping straight to Amazon and finding whatever product I liked and adding it to my cart. Very rarely do I pull the trigger and buy it, but I do keep in it my cart, or on my wishlist, just in case I decide im ready to spend the money. For example, last summer I was on a hunt for a nice but inexpensive rug for my room in my off campus house this year, I searched one sight on my phone, found some nice ones, but ultimately decided I wasnt ready to spend the money. The next day, I was being shown ads for different rug companies on Instagram, and since I interacted with the ads I was shown, I went through a cycle of only being shown ads for rugs. While I think its important for people to understand exactly why we are being shown the specific ads and we are and when, this can also be a tool to help us find the perfect product for us. Through my targeted rug ads, I was able to actually find one I like and could afford, and I didnt have to put much work into my search, as I was being shown my options through advertisements on social media.

2. Contemporary Propaganda

What is it?

People attribute propaganda to Nazi Germany, and nationalism in America during World War II. However, people fail to realize that propaganda has become a 21st century weapon that is taking over social media. Propaganda can be defined as a piece of media or information that helps people act together by building agreement, and panders to our insecurities and anxieties. Sound familiar? Today propaganda can be made by anyone, and posted and shared online all over the world. Viral memes are comparable to the images produced by Nazi Germany in their ability to shape perception and cognition, and intentionally get an emotional reaction from the viewer. During the 2020 presidential campaign, many memes were created that either defended, or criticized Donald Trumps controversial time in office. Both sides were propaganda, and we're likely spreading misinformation and “fake news” that triggered an emotional reaction from the right or left side, and in turn caused it to spread across the internet.

Why is it meaningful to me?

I think the ability to anonymously post any information- true or false, online has completely saturated social media with an abundance of opinions that have been turned into fact. I find myself overwhelmed with the amount of information I read everyday online, and unfortunately, find myself going to Twitter for important political and world news. It is important that consumers of the internet are able to use techniques to filter through what is real news, and what is false or crudely over dramatized. For example, when I see a tweet with “groundbreaking” news, I always look to see if there is an author or contributor attached to the information. If the tweet is citing “The Onion,” a newspapers organization that post satirical articles, I know it is not realiable. These strategies are imperative to learn if you are actively consuming media, especially memes.

  1. Why are we attracted to characters?

What is it?

Media storytellings ability to represent people, beliefs, attitudes, and ideas into characters draw us into real emotional attachments to them. To understand how these characters shape expectations about ourselves, others, and overall human experience, you have to understand the archetypes to analyze and create characters that take on the roles of hero, villain, victim, and helper. If you have grew up fighting a lot of your battles alone you are probably more attracted to “The Seeker,” who is sometimes different from others, and braves loneliness and isolation in order to seek out new paths. If you feel really emotionally attached to the character Harry Potter, you probably have a wounded and lonely past, but were able to regain love and support through the help of friends or family (“The Orphan” archetype).

Why is it meaningful to me?

I was able to apply my knowledge of character building and archetypes, and apply them to the characters of social media, influencers. Take Kylie Jenner, arguably one of the most influential modern day celebrities, with a following of over 410 million, she uses her various platforms to write her own story, and takes on the role of many different archetypes. I think it is important for followers of influencers to take into account that we do not truly know their intentions, we just know the character they have created of themselves on social media. When they play into these different human experiences, like when a fitness guru posts an unedited and unflattering picture of their body, they create a sense of “knowing” them, and therefore establish trust between themselves and us. While this can be a vessel for good, reminding the average American that nobody is perfect, it also creates the perfect formula for influencers to sell their brand.

--

--