Objectification of Women in Video Games

Sean Murray
Digital & Media Literacy
2 min readApr 11, 2022

When I first read the description of the assignment, I was worried it may be difficult working with a classmate that I had never met in person. In the past I have had bad group project experiences and thoughts of something similar happened caused a pang of anxiety. I closed my laptop and told myself I would figure out a partner the next day. The next day I opened my email and had a message from Cole asking if I wanted to work with him on the project. The first step was complete, I had found a partner, and we scheduled time for a zoom meeting to discuss how to tackle the project.

During the zoom meeting we discussed what we wanted to do. Cole had the idea of further exploring women in gaming and how they were depicted and treated. He had video experience and said he would be able to create the video if I wanted to do a voiceover. Though I did not have experience doing this it was something I was interested in exploring. We both talked about what we wanted to explore to help guide the creation of the video. We created a google doc and shared notes and updates to keep each other informed.

In the following days Cole sent me an update of the video and I began preparing the script. I had recently purchased a new microphone and after researching online decided to use Audacity to record the voiceover. I read scholarly articles, online publications, and videos about issues women face in gaming. While the news was not new to me I was surprised by what some of the statistics showed. I finalized the script and prepared to record. It was awkward hearing my own voice when listening back on Audacity but after a few practice runs I began recording and editing. Once I had the hang of it the recording went smoothly and I sent it to Cole to check over. He said it looked great and I felt an immediate sense of relief.

Finding a partner and setting a plan early on helped make the rest of the project run smoothly. We both had set roles and worked on our own time to complete our tasks. It worked out that Cole had experience and provided a good direction for us to go. In the end this was a very fun project and experience working with Cole. This is the first video of this kind I have ever made but I plan to do more in the future.

--

--