The Dangers of Social Media Advertising

Chelsea Soares
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readApr 11, 2022

When I first read the description for Leap 5 I was so nervous. Group work always stresses me out. I have had horrible experiences in the past where nothing has gotten done and everyone suffered because of it or I ended up doing all of the work. When the time came for choosing a partner for Leap 5, I reached out to Lila. We worked together on Leap 1 along with other students in the class. She was always so responsive and easy to work with during our first project that I thought she would make a great partner for this project. Immediately, we shared phone numbers and got right to work. We began a working list of ideas for our project and script in Google Docs. Eventually, we planned out some time to FaceTime and wrote our whole script in one day. I believe we spent almost 2 hours on the phone that day. We both put a lot of effort into the project and really cared about having high-quality work. This experience working with Lila showed me that there are good partners to work with when doing group work. I was so grateful for the time and consideration she returned to me while doing this project.

I was nervous about the deadlines for sure. I truly do not have much experience in the video making/editing field and I was nervous that the lack of skills I have in that area would affect the final outcome. Gratefully, I managed without being super skilled in those areas. I enjoyed how this project broaden my horizons to how effective group work can be when you are working with the right person and how with time management and evenly splitting up the tasks at hand, a lot can be accomplished. I am so glad to have had this experience in class. I now feel more comfortable with group work and I feel more comfortable using applications such as iMovie and Adobe Create. I enjoyed learning new skills all while sharpening my other skills.

The topic Lila and I chose was perfect as well. I enjoyed learning about how dangerous and misleading advertising on social media can be. I also enjoyed tying in media literacy concepts and how with basic media literacy education we can avoid being led down the wrong path online. I believe this topic is one that should be talked about more and I’m so glad that Lila and I got to highlight that in our project. There is so much to talk about in relation to advertising and social media and how it truly affects all of us in our online experiences. If we tried to hit all of the points and concepts our video would truly have been hours long. I am glad for all that I got to research and learn in this experience.

Overall, I had a positive experience working on Leap 5. I was happy with the timeline Lila and I chose and nothing felt rushed or incomplete. She was a great partner to have on this project and if given opportunities in the future I would love to work with her again!

--

--