Top 10 Listicle

Alex Rosen
Digital & Media Literacy
4 min readMay 3, 2022

When I enrolled in COM 250 I did it because it was the only online class for communications but I turned out to love this class and all that it had to teach. It taught me a lot more than I expected to learn.

10. How do People get the News:

In this section people learned how to get the news online and in other places, like your phones or tablets. We were taught about new concepts such as legacy media and news aggression. I liked this chapter because it was interesting to me.

9. How do People decide what to trust:

In this chapter we learned about credibility and authority and most importantly authenticity. I really liked this chapter because it taught us again that we can not always trust the internet and its sources.

8. How do Search Engines Work:

With this chapter it was about how everything has changed over the years, including the internet, advertising, and much more. This chapter was a lot of algorithms and history on how we got this information. I liked this chapter but it wasn’t my favorite to learn about all of the algorithms.

7. Are Social Media Free:

With this chapter we learned what media you can get for free. In reality free means that you should be able to speak freely but most of the social media apps and sites have rules and regulations against certain things. I did like this section a lot because it taught me a lot of the rules I didn’t know and the inside knowledge of these companies.

6. How do Media Companies Make Money:

In this section we learned about how marketing is really intertwined with the media and how companies can target you by what you say or search. A Lot of it has to do with the product and how they can get it out faster, so if that means advertising it on social media then that is what they will do. I liked this chapter because I was always so fascinated by how companies got their ads out and such and it was great learning about it.

5. Who Decides What Makes Media Good:

In this section it was mostly about how there is someone who is always monitoring something and how there are algorithms to put things you like first. In this chapter i really related it to like youtube because they have an algorithm that makes you want to watch certain things first. I enjoyed learning more about this information and getting to see it first hand.

4. What about Advertising, Propaganda, and Public Relations:

I liked this section because it was a lot about stuff I kind of already knew and was interested in. In my personal opinion this was a super interesting chapter because propaganda is everywhere nowadays and it was really fun to learn and do some stuff with it.

3. Is My Brother Addicted to Media:

This was a really good section. I loved learning about how children are affected by the media and what it can do to them. In my generation we grew up with the media but this new generation it’s already here and it’s more advanced, so it’s easier for things to get out of hand quicker. This was one of my top three favorite topics because learning about child development in the media is really interesting and it was something I truly enjoyed.

2. Why do People Worry about Stereotypes:

This was in my top 3 because it’s so fascinating to me to see how people react to a stereotype and why it’s given to them. In this chapter we learned about how stereotypes come about in the media and how they are created and affect the people they are towards. Learning about this and digging through this more and finding the answer was fascinating and intriguing.

1. Why are we Attracted to Characters and Stories:

This is my number 1 because I love learning about characters and stories and their lives and backgrounds and it’s amazing to me to see people want to be like these certain characters. We all have a favorite thing and it’s amazing to understand why and break down the character and its story piece by piece, but in order to do that you have to learn why someone is attracted to this character. All of these pieces create a story and they all make something for someone and mean a lot more than most of us realize. This was my favorite by far to learn about and to be able to experience in this class.

--

--