YT/FB: Arms Family Homestead

Brandon Haley
Digital & Media Literacy
3 min readMar 8, 2021

https://youtu.be/ag6prxU5SOU

After viewing and creating my own Screencastify video based on the media content developed by Arms Family Homestead, I was presented with minor struggles and major breakthroughs that helped me create and edit this video to my liking while meeting project requirements throughout the creative process. With my previous technological experience using Screencastify, developing this media content has made working with this computer application a slight bit easier. Despite this knowledge, I was met with some challenges when publishing this content.

The first of my minor struggles was finding the right verbal content to include in the video without exceeding the three minute time restriction. Although I tried my best to accomplish his goal I found myself passed the restriction by 43 seconds, which I hope doesn’t impact my grade tremendously. After redoing the video a total of five times I was finally comfortable with the media message created. There’s a notable change in the pace of my tone once I realized I had to make the requisite of three minutes maximum. words seem to be crammed in together and you may notice throughout the video I took time to pause and transition to the next slide all the while gathering my thoughts before jumping back into the video. After picking up this tip from previous assignments I realized it would save myself the effort of going back and cropping out the unnecessary pauses that frequently occur behind the scenes.

Once I arranged the notable comments to better highlight the creators capabilities and effectiveness in media, I had to accompany the verbal captions with visuals. I decided to make a Google Slide which would make transitioning from media image and questions easier to address. I personally saw this as a major breakthrough because developing the verbal content in a way that makes it concise enough to fit into three minutes was a struggle. Also jumping from link to link, at the same time detailing Arms Family Homestead’s ordinary creativity in under three minutes was quite unattainable. The second struggle I’ve now come to realize as I’m reflecting on my media content is that I designed the Google Slide in a way that would not be able to encase all of the detailed information I planned on featuring in my presentation. Also, I failed to include my most important requirement, the Works Cited page where I drew my connection to the Media Literacy In Action on page 238.

One major breakthrough I had was the upload of the content to YouTube. After connecting my YouTube account to the computer application Screencastify I was able to directly upload the footage to YouTube with little to no trouble. It was a matter of seconds before I saw the media message published to my personal YouTube page, that I hope serves as the starting point for my own content page. Overall the detailed instructions on our COM250 class site made the submission effortless and straightforward. I hope you are pleased with the structure of the video and the highlighted question I felt were necessary to address.

Works Cited:

Hobbs, R. (2021). Media Literacy In Action Questioning the Media. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.

--

--