Introductions

Kara DeSouza
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
2 min readJan 30, 2020

Hello! My name is Kara and I am a senior studying Journalism and Media Studies with a minor in DCIM.

A little bit about me is that I’m very into fashion and the arts! I am a freelance model and homegrown poet who somehow managed to get into a couple of publications! Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to be a fashion designer but was persuaded into science because it was a “more stable career option”. But turns out after attempting to earn a bachelor's degree in Animal Science, media studies was ultimately my calling and something I feel fairly talented in!

After two internships in fashion marketing and my initial enrollment in the School of Communications at Rutgers for JMS I realized that I actually could be successful while following my passion to pursue something in fashion.

Outside of academics and work, as there is so much more to a person than whats on an 8.5 by 11 sheet of paper, I celebrate and explore my queer identity through Instagram, where I post about my sexuality, fluidity and personal journey to self-love through poetry and at times lengthy captions *lol* like this photo of me and my fiance Jhestrey.

In terms of goals, I am hoping to get a full-time job doing what I love and am most passionate about by the time I graduate in the Spring! Preferably a well-known, but laid back fashion brand that is ALL INCLUSIVE, and gives their employees the liberty to express their individuality without fear of being reprimanded and berated.

--

--