Portfolio #3

Wahana McMillian
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
1 min readFeb 13, 2020

I think the digital media do support the public sphere. I say this because social media allows people to discuss their issues, concerns, or just thoughts freely with other people. The media allows people to connect with others that share the same thoughts or opinions of them. This helps people make connections and groups for things that concern this. For example, the Black Lives Matter Movement started all on social media. If it wasn’t for technology or social media platforms people wouldn’t have been able to find others that also relate to this movement.

My key word is information. I feel like my keyword intersect with the ideas of digital public sphere and digital democracy because information is the source of these democracy’s. I say this because democracy’s are a group of people whom share the same opinions. For these opinions to matter these people need to find information and sources that support their reason for being able apart of the democracy.

--

--