Portfolio #6

BRIANNA ORMOND
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
2 min readMar 30, 2020

Some of the readings this week were actually not new to me, given that I watched the FYRE Festival documentary on Netflix and read the Brand Culture piece previously. Therefore, neither taught me anything new. However, “What Does it Cost to Be on Instagram” was new to me. I never knew how much work, effort, or finances went into maintaining an Instagram page.

What amazes me is that nothing in this industry is promised. But then again, the same could be argued for those earning college degrees. For example, there’s uncertainty in finding a career that is perfectly aligned with my degree. What I also found relateable was Nathaniel James saying how the competition is a personal struggle for him,“…where [he] couldn’t stand to even be around [his] blogger friends.” I hear/see many classmates receive many awards and internships when I’m not. So sometimes it’s hard reminding myself that everyone runs their own race at their own speed.

In terms of authenticity, each source made me question authenticity. For example, Instagram fashion bloggers spend enormous amounts of energy, time, and resources to appear effortlessly styled. Is it inauthentic or just a reflection of their dedication and hard work? The FYRE Festival documentary showed that all that’s portrayed online and in reality can be inauthentic. Such as seen with Billy’s numerous lies to influencers and staff alike. Lastly, the Authentic Brand Culture reading made me wonder if brands are actually real. How can clothing brands, for example, pride themselves on uniqueness but sell in every accessible form? Due to the commodification of these goods, it doesn’t seem authentic to me.

--

--