Portfolio 8

Will
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
2 min readApr 21, 2020

Fan-Fiction is something I have never been interested in, but our guest lecturer taught me much about it that I never knew. I found it interesting that it is looked down upon by many people, not just their work, but the actual fans themselves. People are so discriminated against just for a creative intuition. THEN, on top of that, if the author happens to be queer it adds an entire second wave of hate, and anger towards the “fic”. Fan-Fiction is not the topic I found most interesting this week. All of the viewers hating on these fan-fiction pieces could also be called “Trolls”.

I found the discussion on internet trolls very relatable and specific. Lindy West, writer of “What happened when I confronted my internet troll”, made the readers FEEL how it is to have internet trolls. She was very descriptive in mentioning how trolls commented on her articles. The comments were disgusting. Understanding why her “remorseful troll” decided to troll in the first place was super strange and gross, but informative. What’s important to understand is that trolls live through social media, but they also live on gaming consoles, chat rooms, and other internet sources. They do target woman more-so, but they do target everybody. Men, women, children, elders, gays, straights, they target everybody. This article was super informative and interesting to read. I think its super interesting because it is exactly what we learn about in this class, the relatableness to digital media and society.

I think it relates to my final project topic of Influencer Marketing because marketing comes extremely more difficult if you build up a following of internet trolls. Being able to promote yourself is progressively harder the more these rude people begin to tamper your internet presence. They also probably follow you but coincide with the “fake followers” as mentioned in my proposal.

--

--