Portfolio 9

Will
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
1 min readMay 11, 2020

Privacy has become a big worry to many citizens in current times. Social media is one of the biggest concerns with this. Social media is known for having some positive and some negative effects on people. In our guest lecture we learned about the psychology behind these effects. I found it interesting, all though a bit detailed, to learn so much about something that I use every single day. They didn’t really change my views however. I have known about this precautions and I’ve learned to handle them while still gaining only positive use out of my social media.I believe that with practice and vigilance the entire world can work in this manner.

The issues with privacy are also very relevant. So many people cover their computer and phone cameras nowadays, and delete incorrectly worded posts or images. The fear of an “overseer” has really had an effect on our society in recent times. Many adults and children worry that their websites will not be secure with their information, and become anxious over the possibility that something may go wrong.

--

--