Portfolio #9

Wahana McMillian
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
1 min readMay 3, 2020

I learned a few things. From the reading “Why Privacy Matter” it says “Everybody probably has something to hide from somebody” (Solove) In this reading it was talking about how people say they don’t have anything to hide because they don’t do anything bad, or they don’t mind if the government monitors their phone calls because they don’t do anything wrong. Now I know that privacy isn’t about hiding things but it’s about keeping personal things, like credit card information, bills and more hidden. It’s not about not doing anything bad but about making sure there are secrets things that everyone doesn’t need to know. In my own experience, I always knew that for me privacy wasn’t about hiding things, it was just about keeping my personal life nonpublic. I use social media a lot but I don’t ever post too much because there are things that I do not want people to know. This topic with the idea of relationships between digital media and society hasn’t really changed my thoughts. Although it have changed or impact others thoughts, I feel like I have always had the same points as the points in this week.

This can relate a lot to my topic about online trolling and harassment. Social media is a very public yet private place. With online trolling and harassment people sometimes find information on others and use that against them. Trolling and harassment can happen with breaking the boundaries of privacy or without it. Meaning, people gain information from others via social media to use against their “victims.”

--

--