Portfolio Assignment #6

Daniela Villalobos
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
3 min readMar 30, 2020
How Far will you go to become famous?

For some people in my generation, being famous or heavily liked on social media is everything. One may think they are not interested in having as many as one hundred followers on their social media, but you can tell that they care about the many likes they can receive on a picture they post of themselves. I admit that I used to be like this, heck I even think I am like this now.

I learned after watching and reading the content for this week that I can relate and that is just a tad bit sad, but I am not ashamed to admit. I remember when I first had created a profile on Instagram, I would become upset after seeing how many likes I was receiving on my first posted picture of myself. My friend, who is still my friend today, cared a lot about the amount of likes she received and she never hesitated to let me know how much. It was the greatest blow on my self esteem at the time that caused me to entirely deactivate my account for a long while, deleting about one hundred or so posts that I really cared about.

I learned on my own that the amount of friends you have on social media does not really matter and it’s not important. Instagram, for me, is not my life. I ended up making a new account and only post when I feel like I want to remember the moment for myself, and not for others to see. I think I take pictures more of the food I eat than of myself and post them on my stories to later highlight them on my page. I have about twenty posts on my actual account which are a mix of my family and some of me.

It’s bizarre to see how Instagram is in fact the life of others and they make money out of it. Sure, it’d be nice to make money out of posting nice pictures and getting attention from that, but I never realized after reading the article “What Does It Cost To Be Big On Instagram” how much of your time is put with being on your phone just to maintain that life. I believe that if a famous influencer forgets or misses a daily post, their followers will immediately react to it and believe something is wrong.

I’ve seen a lot of Youtubers state the days they usually have time to post: Tuesdays and Thursdays or Mondays and Wednesdays and so on. If, in any case, the Youtuber does not post on that stated day, they could potentially lose some subscribers. Especially if it’s something that happens consistently. I don’t think I can ever keep up with posting occassionally.

The last time I actually posted something on my IG page was on Christmas Eve 2019.

--

--