Portfolio Assignment #9

Kara DeSouza
Digital Media & Society Spring 2020
2 min readMay 3, 2020

This week I learned just how easy it is to have your personal information can be compromised. It can be because of a lack of consciousness, or as a result of believing a deception that is too good to be true. I've also learned through the art and media lecture and Papacharissi’s work on the affect and networked public that social movement’s potency is not reliant on how much change it creates but the powerful emotions and resonance it creates within people.

In my own experience, regarding surveillance and privacy, I want to allude to “Where would you draw the line.” Although I and many people may not be happy or comfortable with surveillance we readily accept “trade-offs depending on the information collected, who gets to see it, how it’s shared, and maybe most important, how it’s used.” And this idea exemplifies how I feel about surveillance and privacy as social networking sites are essentially a necessity for me so I have to be okay with giving up some privacy in order to gain the benefit of being on the site. This unit impacted my understanding of digital media and society because it brought up this paradox, the privacy paradox. “Where would you draw the line.” asserts that there is “a quirk in our digital behavior: People rarely change what they do online, even when they express serious concerns about how their data is used.”

How this relates to my final paper topic is quite similar as it is a social advocacy issue for the LGBTQIA+ community. For most of the population, many queer issues don’t have the same salience as regular policy issues because they don’t have to worry about feeling the brunt of the effects. In light of the term privacy paradox, there is an advocacy paradox, as many reach the extent of their aid when their fingers leave their keyboard.

--

--