Collaborating with Freies Werkstatt Theater Köln

Pal Pratima
Digital Narratives
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2023

19.04.2023 | Day 2 | Production Exercise 2

We started with forming a company for collaborating with our client Freies Werkstatt Theater (FWT) Köln. After a spirited brain storming session, we named it Glitch Unlimited. Now it was time to access our in-house skill sets so that we can rely on each other while working as a team. To help us pen things down Maren Demant asked us to create a virtual stall for ourselves on paper. The purpose was to exhibit our skillsets for others to see. The skill sets that are relevant to the project at hand go in one column. Skill sets that might not be as relevant are listed in the second column, and skills that we would like to develop in the last column. Though simple to look at, I thought it was a complex exercise to execute in 20 minutes.

Pratima’s skillset stall. Photo by author

Anyways, here is what I came up with and my colleagues generously filled out the skills that I had overlooked about myself. You see what I mean by the exercise being complex?!

We analyzed our client’s expectation from us and what we could offer as a creative team. Taking the age-old art form of theatre and augmenting it through new digital mediums was a good challenge to begin with and we all felt excited about it.

Since this was my first meeting with Maren in person, I observed how structured her teaching and working methods were. All the topics and sessions were precisely timed and we worked till the buzzer went off. My forever-wandering mind appeared to have been tamed and I was better able to focus on the task at hand. This was my definite take away from today! There was so much more that was deliberated upon in class but I’ll cover it in my following bytes.

--

--

Pal Pratima
Digital Narratives

A compassionate filmmaker who deals in human issues and psychological responses.