IT NEVER WORKS! Until it does

Laurien Michiels
Digital Narratives
Published in
2 min readApr 25, 2023

25.04.2023 | Day 7 | Production Exercise 2

Screenshot taken by Laurien.

Being the developer in the team does come with a set of challenges, such as having almost close to 0 experience :)

Today we started with a short reflection of yesterday and what we wanted to achieve today. Spoiler alert: I did not achieve what I wanted to achieve so tomorrow is going to be a very busy day.

Focus was on functionality. No pretty aesthetics just make the interactions work. I started out by adding the spheres and positioning them, however they did not show up. Then I learnt that your objects need to be present within the <scene>. I tell you, 2 brain cells left and they are struggling to collaborate.

Some private admin I needed to take care of did throw me a little bit out of my productivity but I stubbornly continued to seek the answers for the coding that I needed to do. After much googling, I concluded that I lack some coding jargon, because none of the prompts gave me the results I had hoped to find. The spheres are clickable, yes, but there should be media coming from this interaction.

Screenrecording of the VR prototype environment by Laurien.

At 15:00 we video called Maren for a short feedback session and there we got some more perspectives relating to the aesthetics of our prototype, which we might implement. This is something to be discussed.

Anyway, the day passed by so quickly, and I felt I have done so many things with very little result which makes it feel unproductive, but rationally I know it has been productive. (Reminds me a lot of academic work, tons of research + very slow progress towards results)

See you tomorrow with some new fresh energy xx

--

--